Automation Engineer - Making the Leap

Longhorn

I am struggling to make a decision whether or not to make the leap into Automation Engineering. I am a maintenance technician just now who does most of the site instrumentation, PLC & SCADA modifications and have wrote several applications from scratch.
An opportunity has came up with another company in a similar industry for an Automation Engineer, more money, less travel, no more nightshifts and more family time.....I am just a bit nervous in making the leap to that field.
I came out with a 1st in B.Eng Systems Eng degree and have had 5 yrs experience but just hope i wont be biting off more than i can chew?!?!?!?!?

📚 👨🏻‍🏫

LH

more money, less travel, no more nightshifts and more family time
I'd take that claim with a grain of salt if I were you...

That being said, what have you got to lose by applying? If the other company doesn't think you're capable, they won't hire you. If you get the job, just don't be afraid to ask questions when you're not sure of something.

Too many people are reluctant to admit when they don't completely understand the task they've been assigned to do. They're afraid that admitting to incomplete knowledge is akin to an admission of incompetence. Don't make that mistake. When you're automating machinery, the consequences of guessing wrong can range from embarrassing yourself all the way to killing someone.

Also see if the company will foot some training (and ongoing training)

ie.they use S7's, ask if they will send you on some step 7 and winCC courses. Machinery safety and controls if you have to do it, ask if they will send you on some BS EN 13849-1 and BS EN 62061 courses...

Do you want to stay at the bottom like milk or rise to the top like cream ? :)

Haha L D, if it's homogenized then I'm stuffed!. Thanks all for the comments. After a few glasses of red wine I have made my decision to go for it. I'm just one of those cautious people so like to be absolutely sure!!!!

Thanks all