You are not registered yet. Please click here to register!


 
 
plc storereviewsdownloads
This board is for PLC Related Q&A ONLY. Please DON'T use it for advertising, etc.
 
Try our online PLC Simulator- FREE.  Click here now to try it.

---------->>>>>Get FREE PLC Programming Tips

New Here? Please read this important info!!!


Go Back   PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > LIVE PLC Questions And Answers

PLC training tools sale

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old November 7th, 2018, 03:21 PM   #1
remullis
Member
United States

remullis is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Georgia
Posts: 131
cpt function and doing the math for silo capacity

I am working with plc5.

I am using the CPT function but getting errors.

The level of the silo is inputed at F51:031. The silo cuft is 3393 with 30' overall height. I need this computed and then I will multiply the Bulk Density to get total tons in the tank.

This is what I have:

(F51:031-0)*(3393-0)/(30-0)+0 ( this is in error)

(Input 17 in tank -InputMin 0) * (ScaleMax 3393 cuft capacity ScaleMin 0)/(InputMax 30 tall tank-InputMin 0) + ScaleMin 0
(17-0)*(3393-0)/(30-0)+0 = 1922.7 cuft of material in silo at 17 in a 30 tank where the cuft of the tank volume is 3393.

Any help would be appreciated.

Thanks
rm
  Reply With Quote
Old November 7th, 2018, 03:54 PM   #2
mscholz
Member
United States

mscholz is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: TX
Posts: 37
Try using | (Right above the enter key on your keyboard) instead of / for divide.
  Reply With Quote
Old November 7th, 2018, 03:55 PM   #3
GaryS
Member
United States

GaryS is offline
 
GaryS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Lancaster Pa.
Posts: 768
First question is the bottom of the silo flat or is there a cone ?
The formula for volume of a cylinder is
V=Pi R2 x Height
use that to calculate the volume from the flat bottom up
then if you have a cone calculate the volume in the cone by the level
V=Pi R2 x (Height / 3)
add the 2 together
  Reply With Quote
Old November 8th, 2018, 03:05 PM   #4
remullis
Member
United States

remullis is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Georgia
Posts: 131
The | for divide solved my error for the equation. I am able to scale the silo's that are linear (flat bottom). I have figured the silo capacity for a non linear with a cone but of course with the current method above that I am using, when I get to the lower range of the silo I am off some tons.

I have lot's of tanks with varying sizes. Is there a way to scale nonlinear possibly just for the cone volume. I can do the logic to control how I read once it gets down to the cone hopefully. I am trying to avoid programming multiple level points in the PLC5.
  Reply With Quote
Reply
Jump to Live PLC Question and Answer Forum

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:26 PM.


.