You are not registered yet. Please click here to register!


 
 
plc storereviewsdownloads
This board is for PLC Related Q&A ONLY. Please DON'T use it for advertising, etc.
 
Try our online PLC Simulator- FREE.  Click here now to try it.

---------->>>>>Get FREE PLC Programming Tips

New Here? Please read this important info!!!


Go Back   PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > LIVE PLC Questions And Answers

PLC training tools sale

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old November 6th, 2018, 02:55 PM   #1
Greg Dake
Member
United States

Greg Dake is offline
 
Greg Dake's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Milwaukee, Wi
Posts: 536
Low Cost Ethernet I/P VFD

Greetings,

I am looking for some ideas on low cost VFD's which natively support Ethernet I/P. Looking for 3 phase, 480V, 2h.p. and less. Just need them for conveyor motors, no elaborate control.

TIA,

Greg
  Reply With Quote
Old November 6th, 2018, 03:13 PM   #2
damica1
Member
United States

damica1 is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: Illinois
Posts: 554
Schneider, ton's of control/monitoring thru Modbus TCP.
__________________
David M. Camp

Marshall Electric / https://mei-tech.com/monitor-and-control

Please Download from our download section "Monitor and Control" .pdf.
  Reply With Quote
Old November 6th, 2018, 04:16 PM   #3
jstolaruk
Member
United States

jstolaruk is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Detroit, SouthEast Michigan
Posts: 3,257
Apparently a Automation direct GS4 can do it. https://www.automationdirect.com/vid...ay=0pYrurtEOrY
__________________
"You can live to be a hundred if you give up all the things that make you want to live to be a hundred." Woody Allen
  Reply With Quote
Old November 6th, 2018, 04:23 PM   #4
Helliana
Member
United States

Helliana is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Arkansas
Posts: 605
Powerflex 525 if you are trying to stick with Rockwell.
  Reply With Quote
Old November 6th, 2018, 05:17 PM   #5
jraef
Member
United States

jraef is offline
 
jraef's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Northern California
Posts: 1,576
+1 on the PF525. Built-in Ethernet I/P port and if using a Rockwell Logix PLC, the AOP is right there for you. Plug and play.
  Reply With Quote
Old November 6th, 2018, 05:41 PM   #6
alive15
Member
United States

alive15 is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: al
Posts: 233
Isn't PF525 120V ?
  Reply With Quote
Old November 6th, 2018, 06:20 PM   #7
jraef
Member
United States

jraef is offline
 
jraef's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Northern California
Posts: 1,576
Quote:
Originally Posted by alive15 View Post
Isn't PF525 120V ?
That's an option, but they have everything from 120V to 600V, up to 30HP
  Reply With Quote
Old November 6th, 2018, 06:48 PM   #8
Gene Bond
Member
United States

Gene Bond is offline
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Indianapolis, IN
Posts: 280
Control Techniques M200 + SI-Ethernet. AOI is available for Rockwell.
  Reply With Quote
Old November 6th, 2018, 06:59 PM   #9
JRW
Member
United States

JRW is offline
 
JRW's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Upstate South Cackalacky
Posts: 1,676
Greg
Siemens G120C-PN
Built in STO and a two port switch.
An AOI is available too at no charge.
  Reply With Quote
Old November 6th, 2018, 07:44 PM   #10
bill4807
Member
United States

bill4807 is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: michigan
Posts: 103
I vote AB powerflex 525 as well.
  Reply With Quote
Old November 7th, 2018, 09:30 AM   #11
beethoven_ii
Lifetime Supporting Member
United Kingdom

beethoven_ii is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: England
Posts: 302
Personally I'd avoid Schneider drives like the plague. I did a project earlier this year with the Altivar ATV320 controlled by an S7-1500 plc over Profinet and it was a nightmare. Such a rigmarole to just get them to run and their tech support people in the UK and in France still haven't been able to tell me a method that works for clearing a drive fault using the reset command in the control word. Another nicety I found is that if you use STO on them and they go into a SAFF safety fault the only method I have found to clear this is by doing a complete factory reset.
  Reply With Quote
Old November 7th, 2018, 09:30 AM   #12
Greg Dake
Member
United States

Greg Dake is offline
 
Greg Dake's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Milwaukee, Wi
Posts: 536
Hi Folks,

Thanks for the abundance of response! My standard is the PF525, however I am trying to find something less expensive.

Greg
  Reply With Quote
Old November 7th, 2018, 09:52 AM   #13
beethoven_ii
Lifetime Supporting Member
United Kingdom

beethoven_ii is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: England
Posts: 302
You could take a look at the Toshiba AS3 VFD or the Mitsubishi E700 series, both of which are likely to be cheaper and support Ethernet I/P.
  Reply With Quote
Old November 7th, 2018, 10:07 AM   #14
Rson
Member
United States

Rson is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Location: Michigan
Posts: 41
Quote:
Originally Posted by Greg Dake View Post
Hi Folks,

Thanks for the abundance of response! My standard is the PF525, however I am trying to find something less expensive.

Greg
I was in the same boat.

I looked at several drives: Siemens, Schnieder, lenze, other Allen-Bradley (pf 40/etc) and they all seem to run pretty close together in costs by the time you figure the drive + communications card.

They are close enough to be a wash.

IMO, just pick a drive based on controls. Use PF525 for Rockwell, G120 for Siemens, etc.
  Reply With Quote
Old November 7th, 2018, 10:41 AM   #15
Gene Bond
Member
United States

Gene Bond is offline
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Indianapolis, IN
Posts: 280
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rson View Post
I was in the same boat.

I looked at several drives: Siemens, Schnieder, lenze, other Allen-Bradley (pf 40/etc) and they all seem to run pretty close together in costs by the time you figure the drive + communications card.

They are close enough to be a wash.

IMO, just pick a drive based on controls. Use PF525 for Rockwell, G120 for Siemens, etc.
I'd sure be interested to see some real numbers from an OEM / Integrator. AB prices are all over the map, depending on who the customer is.
  Reply With Quote
Reply
Jump to Live PLC Question and Answer Forum

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Topics
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
access USB port on PLC or VFD via ethernet ThomasGruetter LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 5 May 27th, 2016 02:14 PM
On Logix5000 system, why there are two or more Ethernet cards on the same rack? wendaiyu LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 17 April 24th, 2016 10:18 PM
AB Ethernet I/P Target help drno LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 4 February 18th, 2016 05:26 PM
How to config a SEW Movitrac VFD to Ethernet switch xding LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 7 October 27th, 2015 04:22 PM
Low Cost Panel PC's ? Rob S. LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 5 October 22nd, 2014 03:11 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:32 PM.


.