s7 & profibus -> modbus

marius

well... i'm trying to become wise about how 'Telemechanique LA9P307 PROFIBUS->MODBUS Gateway' works ... i would like to connect S7 CPU units with 15 modbus frequency converters
(to read errors and set some parameters)

i just know about LA9P309:

- support exactly 15 modbus devices
- it is configured using some kind of windows software
- it will generate some .GSD info file (which is according to manual usable with some PL7 sofware i have no experience)
- i may need the switches on modbus side as well (each switch support maximum of 8 modbus device)

so i guess... that i will:
- configure my i/o side on MODBUS
- configure my i/o side on PROFIBUS DP
- save this config into gateway
- import gateway .GSD into step7 project as some kind of i/o device
- and now just by reading/writing channels
on profibus side the gateway will take care about channels
translation into modbus protocol and vice versa
?
... i have also find very few threads with similar content but other hw, so... did anybody of you successfully connected S7 on profibus with modbus device?

thanks for any (in)practical replies :)

(i've spent some time with schneider's technical consultants but the problem is, they do theory, no real work so often and not with s7 of course :) )

to connect s7 to modbus slaves u need the to use the following
1-485 communication processor
2-software package for modbus master (or slave in case yr plc is a slave to another network)

in case u are using s7-200 u do not need this package all u need is the add package for microwin

well... it's about s7-300, if i will use it this way, it will also allow me to create 'independent' modbus network branch with connection to pc with ability to set any converter parameter i need without making more code

What Modus nees