Ethernet I/P, VFD to PLC, comm loss indicator on HMI

AutomationTechBrian

Lifetime Supporting Member
Easy, basic question... this is my first time linking 3 ABB vfds to an Allen-Bradley PLC using ethernet IP, and the odva Drive assemblies 123 and 173. If communication is lost to one of the drives, I would like an indicator light to show up on the HMI for that drive. I could come up with a couple of ways to try doing that, maybe with the drive ready bit. This is such a basic need but I would guess there is a best practice for accomplishing this. Any input? I would also want to make sure the controls were disabled if one of the drives loses communication. Seems to me there should be a bit somewhere for that.

What exact model of VFD ? Most VFDs will indicate a fault if the network connection controlling them is lost. Others might need to be configured to turn on a physical output or indicator.

On the PLC side, I regularly use a Get System Variable (GSV) instruction to determine the connection status of a Generic EtherNet/IP Module, which is how you set up I/O adapters on EtherNet/IP with ODVA assembly numbers.

Parsing the 16-bit Module Status value is widely discussed on this forum, and also in the "1756-PM014 Logix 5000 Controllers Major, Minor, and IO Faults" programming manual.

Cheat sheet: the Module Status is in bits 12-15, and the value "4" means the connection is OK.

Vfd: ACS880
PLC: 5069-L306ER
HMI: Panelview Plus 7, 15" standard

What you're saying makes sense, just not sure where to find those tags. It would be easier if I had internet for my laptop... just using limited internet on my phone.

Use a GSV.
Class Name = Module
Instance = Whatever your drive name is, pick from dropdown
Attribute = EntryStatus
Destination = (Create a DINT tag and place it here)

Then do a masked move (MVM)
Source is tag in GSV Destination
Mask = 61440
Destination is a new DINT Tag that you create

Then use an EQU instruction to decide if the module is communicating.

EQU