Multithreaded C++ into function blocks - PLCOpen

EinarM

Hi there
I'm an embedded software engineer mostly programming C/C++ in Linux and have very little knowledge of the PLC environment.
Recently my attention was diverted towards integrating C/C++ (Linux software) into PLC and then presumably as a function block which is supported with something called PLCOpen. Is that right ?

How is multithread support in PLC in general ? and/or with the these function blocks or what ever might become instead when integrating/porting C/C++ code into PLC.

The current situation is purely embedded Linux environment with open-source 3rd party userland that our code relies heavily on. How feasible is to port such environment over to PLC (given that the system supports it) ?

I've been looking into B&R Automation Studio 4 and having a hard time to establish concrete feeling on how difficult/easy it is to port the code.

Hope anyone can give me a slight insight into this.
Kind regards
Einar

Hi Einar and welcome to the forum.

Unfortunately you have misunderstood the concept of PLCs.
A PLC is not a MCU. It obviously has a processor inside it, but you don't flash it directly.
PLCs have specialized software that you use to program them with, using various languages e.g. ladder logic, function blocks, structured text to name a few.
I only know of one PLC (there are probably more) that you can program using C#/C++, but only through Visual Studio, so you will not be able to port your Linux code.
Programming PLCs is very different from programming embedded devices. It's alot simpler, but takes a while to get used to, if your not familiar with it.

Click the "Learn PLCS" link on the top of the page to get a quick intro.

Depending on your application you may have some PLC type options. For instance Mitsubishi has C controller that can be used, there are also mobile controllers that have a C variant.

Typically you would have to port your C code to Structured Text to run in a PLC.