rslogix 5000 - newbie doubt

kuppe35

Hi all,
I'm quite new to the automation world. I've used a bit Tia Portal in the last month and now i have a new working in rslogix 5000.
From the client excel table i have some ON-OFF contactor with only one digital Output for each one. (many of these are for enlightenment btw)
On the HMI panel I have already preconfigured a green/red led to monitor the status and an OPEN and CLOSE button to comand the contactor.
On the PLC side I've created a ladder AOI to manage their logic.
All I want to do is:
-if I press the hmi close (open) button the contactor will close (open).
-if for same case the PLC goes down the contactor must not be modified.
Here's what i've thought. It could go well?
(Ap=Open , Ch=Close btw XD)

interr.PNG

Hi and welcome to the forum. I'm not sure if this is homework; if it is, then so far this is what I would do: I don't use OTL's and OTU's unless absolutely necessary. So to not cause trouble I believe there was a long discussion about this a few months back. I guess it's just personal preference and my boss at my last job didn't want to use them at all. I always try to use holding circuits. Anyway, one can use a flip-flop circuit to change the state of an output basically on one rung with a momentary PB. You can research flip-flops here on this forum. Hope this helps and good luck!!

Just read your post and cannot quite fathom out what you are trying to do, you appear to say that if you press a button then a contactor pulls in (Energises) in other words latches, however, you also state if the PLC goes down then you do not want the state of the contactor to change i.e. it stays energised, if this is what you expect then it will not happen, when a PLC detects an error then it will switch all outputs off so the contactor will de-energise. The only other way would be to latch it outside of the PLC. I may be wrong but that is how it reads to me.