Allen Bradley PLC 5/15

shandra_ck

Hi all,

I am very new to Allen Bradley PLC. Previously worked on Siemens PLC. I am trying to establish communication between Allen Bradley PLC 5/15 and Siemens OP 7.

I am using Protool CS.

I have the printed copy of RS Logix 5. How do I represent the tags in Protool.

What is the file type, file number and element represented in Protool (In the tag creation page)? compared to step 7?

Please explain the following:

1) N7:18

2) B3
--()--

Thank you. I really hope someone can help me to sort this.

Regards,

Shandra

Last edited:
Hi Shandra.

The first address is really N7:18/10. In other words, File N7, word 18, bit 10 (decimal count).
In Protool that tag would be defined like this: Type = Bit, File type = N, File number = 7, Element = 18, Bit number = 10.

The second address is really B3/60. In other words file B3, bit 60.
It can also be displayed as B3:3/10. In other words file B3, word 3, bit 10.
In Protool that tag would be defined like this: Type = Bit, File type = B, File number = 3, Element = 3, Bit number = 10.

To make it a little bit clearer for you, in RSLogix5 set View .. Properties .. Address display tab .. Bit address format = Single line, and .. Binary bit dislay mode = Word/Bit.

In PLC5, digital inputs and outputs counts octally. F.ex. the addresses of a 16 point input card can be I:1/0 .. I:1/7 + I:1/10 .. I:1/17. The confusing part is that the memory addresses counts decimally.

Other useful Protool tag types:
An integer (example): Type = INT, File type = N, File number = 7, Element = 19.
A timer setpoint (example): Type = INT, File type = T, File number = 4, Element = 0, Subelement = PRE.
A timer actual value (example): Type = INT, File type = T, File number = 4, Element = 0, Subelement = ACC.

Hey shandra !

Are you sure that you have a PLC5-15 ?
If it really is a "classical" PLC-5 (like a PLC5-15) and not an "enhanced" one (like a PLC5-20), then it doesnt have a serial port.