CoDeSys Project Platform Ideas

ross1219

Hello All,
This is my first time here, and I'd like to get your ideas regarding a new project to upgrade an existing product line.
The existing application includes a PLC portion written in CoDeSys Ver 2.3, running on an embedded processor. I'd like to reuse a lot of this code, if possible, for the new project. The application also includes a local HMI and a remote browser interface that I'm planning on having to re-write.
I'm starting to investigate options for hardware and software, and I'd love to get your suggestions.
As much as is feasible, I'd like to use commerical off-the-shelf technology.
I've thought about trying to find a PLC that runs a form of CoDeSys, and then trying to import the existing CoDeSys project. I like the idea of having the reliability of a PLC.
Another thought is to run CoDeSys in a soft PLC on an industrial PC, and then connect to I/O through a fieldbus. This sounds like it might be a very flexible approach, especially when it comes to external communications via Ethernet, and on mobile devices, but I'm concerned about possible problems with uptime and with cost.
Do you all have any advice as I get started?
Thank you!
Ross

Lot's of choices for CoDeSys. I think you need to narrow it down by what you need on this machine. Is there motion required and is it simple or complex? Do you require a lot of analog signals? Are there large amounts of pnuematics? This should help guide you to a mfr. My first thought was Turck BL67 system with a Red Lion HMI. But if there is complex motion reqd this may not be a good solution. Try to narrow it down by whats reqd and then bring in a few distributors/factory reps from the mfr's and get their input.

Why not try the Codesys web site? It lists companies that use its products. The tree most common around where I work are Wago, ABB and IFM, but there are more than 100.