5380 MSG Read UDT from itself?

theColonel26

Lifetime Supporting Member
Can anyone confirm that a 5380 with version 32 should be able to Read a UDT with a MSG instruction from itself?

I am trying to test some messaging code and I only have one 5380 PLC.

I am getting the a "Parameter Error in Module Configuration" error see screen shot.

I am new to messaging in AB so, maybe the issue is something else.

Goal Read a UDT from a remote tag, Goal for another instruction Write a UDT to a remote tag.

2020-10-29 21-22-02 CL-CTRLS-VM-ROC.png

Last edited:
To my knowledge there's no loopback adapter; you can't literally transmit a message to yourself on a physical Ethernet network.

Try entering "1,0" in the CIP Path, to send a CIP Generic MSG to the controller itself. That's how it worked on 1756 controllers, though I haven't done it with a modern CompactLogix.

I never tried to use loop back over 5580 ethernet port.
But I know it works with 1,<slot number>, I am using it time to time.

For 5380 controllers Ethernet port loop back functionality was not present in initial releases, but I believe it started working in V31 and used in some sample code applications, including DLR faceplate.

I did quick test with 5580 ver 32 and it works with Unconnected message
It does not work with Connected message.

Stupid question time.

What is a Connected vs. unconnected message?