You are not registered yet. Please click here to register!


 
 
plc storereviewsdownloads
This board is for PLC Related Q&A ONLY. Please DON'T use it for advertising, etc.
 
Try our online PLC Simulator- FREE.  Click here now to try it.

---------->>>>>Get FREE PLC Programming Tips

New Here? Please read this important info!!!


Go Back   PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > LIVE PLC Questions And Answers

PLC training tools sale

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old February 19th, 2008, 01:06 AM   #1
Werner
Member
Netherlands

Werner is offline
 
Werner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: IJsselstein
Posts: 336
Question Profibus connector

I have a machine which is removable so I need to use connector for the main power, profibus and 24VDC line. I found a cable from Siemens that combines a 4 core and a profibus cable. (So I can combine the 24VDC and profibus, main power in separate cable)

Simatic net ecofast, hybrid cable 6XV1 830-7AH10

Now I need a connector for that system but I can't find a good one.

What kind of connectors are you guys using? (I am looking for a small connector and not a huge one)
__________________
Werner
  Reply With Quote
Old February 19th, 2008, 03:43 AM   #2
Haem
Member
Austria

Haem is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Haag
Posts: 9
What about Harting Han-Modular?
  Reply With Quote
Old February 19th, 2008, 03:53 AM   #3
krk
Lifetime Supporting Member
England

krk is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Kent
Posts: 795
Hi,

We use the Siemens Ecofast system with the hybrid PROFIBUS cable.

We specify Siemens own connection components but both they and the tooling are actually Harting 'Han-Brid' components...


***edit***
Harting Han-Brid Catalog

Last edited by krk; February 19th, 2008 at 04:31 AM.
  Reply With Quote
Old February 19th, 2008, 10:55 AM   #4
Outrage
Member
England

Outrage is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Nottinghamshire
Posts: 173
I would also recommend Harting connectors, they are robust and easy to use. although they may be a bit large for your application.

Cheers,

Lee
  Reply With Quote
Old July 6th, 2010, 11:40 AM   #5
mrmss
Lifetime Supporting Member
United Kingdom

mrmss is offline
 
mrmss's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Midlands - England
Posts: 101
Is anyone aware of any degredation of the link when taking the connection through a Harting? Is a special type of Han module required for data comms? Previously only done hardwired electrical via Harting but need to do Profibus.

We run at 1.5mbps
__________________

Warning: The dates in this calendar are closer than they appear
  Reply With Quote
Old July 7th, 2010, 02:20 AM   #6
JesperMP
Lifetime Supporting Member + Moderator
Denmark

JesperMP is offline
 
JesperMP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Copenhagen.
Posts: 13,083
Yes, there will be a slight degradation through every connector.
But a few connectors should not be critical, even at 1.5M. At 12M Profibus is much more unforgiving.
__________________
Jesper
3 strikes and you're out
  Reply With Quote
Reply
Jump to Live PLC Question and Answer Forum

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Topics
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
PLC to HMI Profibus setup ? GTX LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 8 February 28th, 2009 10:51 AM
TI 500 Series Connector Problems nighthawkjw LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 4 October 11th, 2006 07:11 AM
Com Profibus V5 TimeFluxCap LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 2 August 31st, 2006 12:02 AM
S7-300 With MM440 Profibus Problem Amiko_Phil LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 14 January 11th, 2006 10:32 AM
Profibus Siemens Fritz_frederix LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 4 October 21st, 2004 09:18 AM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:31 PM.


.