You are not registered yet. Please click here to register!


 
 
plc storereviewsdownloads
This board is for PLC Related Q&A ONLY. Please DON'T use it for advertising, etc.
 
Try our online PLC Simulator- FREE.  Click here now to try it.

---------->>>>>Get FREE PLC Programming Tips

New Here? Please read this important info!!!


Go Back   PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > LIVE PLC Questions And Answers

PLC training tools sale

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old September 11th, 2019, 06:01 AM   #16
wimpiesplc
Member
Netherlands

wimpiesplc is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 332
Quote:
Originally Posted by kalabdel View Post
I took apart an S7-200 to have a look at the POTs and you should be able to get any electronic repair shop to replace them for you. Very easy soldering and the POTs are dime a dozen.
my first question was, and even more seeing these pics, how does a pot break off the circuit board?
  Reply With Quote
Old September 11th, 2019, 09:28 AM   #17
Busch
Member
United States

Busch is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2019
Location: Illinois
Posts: 4
The POT was used for temperature control of a plastic welding mechanism (hot knife) for plastic banding straps. Now with the POT broke off the board the hot knife will not get up to temp to weld the straps together. Hence the no output. Maybe I am just wording things differently IDK.

All other functions are working as they are supposed to. It is just this area that is not working as it is supposed to. Because the POT for the hot knife is broke off of the board.

After contacting Signode (the manufacturer of this machine) and telling them what has happened (and of course after I myself went through the diagnostics book) we came to the conclusion that the hot knife is not working because that POT is what controls it.
  Reply With Quote
Old September 12th, 2019, 01:55 AM   #18
parky
Member
United Kingdom

parky is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Midlands
Posts: 1,232
Maybe a quick fix would be to put a small temperature controller on it and enable it with a signal from the PLC for example a spare contact off the safety relay or another relay that is energised when system is ready, however, there could be an interlock in the PLC that stops operation until unit is up to temperature but this would require an analogue input to the PLC, this could be overcome be it analogue feedback (temp sensor with analogue output to feed back) or if a digital one a contact off the temperature controller is up to temperature.
This might be a cheaper option.
I would be careful about dismantling the PLC just in case this would disconnect any battery used for backup, not familiar with the 1200 range it could be a battery less unit, in which case there should be no problem.
However if you decide to bite the bullet & buy a programmed unit from the supplier then you could try to repair the other, try & get the code uploaded & keep it as a spare.
  Reply With Quote
Reply
Jump to Live PLC Question and Answer Forum

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Topics
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Siemens or Omron? Gromit LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 35 November 14th, 2017 09:44 AM
AdvancedHMI - Siemens PLCs S7-200/1200/300/400 Beta drivers BryanG LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 25 December 3rd, 2013 02:21 AM
Siemens to Allen Bradley sweetjohnny LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 4 April 20th, 2013 01:46 AM
Siemens 505 to Siemens S7 Rob S. LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 5 July 10th, 2012 07:37 PM
Transfer Data From Siemens PLC to AB PLC Danocane LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 8 September 7th, 2007 06:29 AM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:23 AM.


.