You are not registered yet. Please click here to register!


 
 
plc storereviewsdownloads
This board is for PLC Related Q&A ONLY. Please DON'T use it for advertising, etc.
 
Try our online PLC Simulator- FREE.  Click here now to try it.

---------->>>>>Get FREE PLC Programming Tips

New Here? Please read this important info!!!


Go Back   PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > LIVE PLC Questions And Answers

PLC training tools sale

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old December 5th, 2016, 06:11 AM   #1
dinetech
Member
United States

dinetech is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Oakland
Posts: 8
AB 525 VFD Wont connect on windows 10 pro

I use to connect USB to config a 525 VFD and now with windows 10 I can't anymore why?
desktop which is windows 7 connects right away... but I can't set parameters with it.
CCW on win10 also can't connect, but that's not the problem win10 the issue I think?
  Reply With Quote
Old December 5th, 2016, 06:55 AM   #2
Paully's5.0
Lifetime Supporting Member
United States

Paully's5.0 is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: WI
Posts: 2,111
I doubt CCW is compatible w/Windows 10 yet. I'd assume that is the issue, of course you should verify.
  Reply With Quote
Old December 5th, 2016, 07:08 AM   #3
gclshortt
Member
Canada

gclshortt is offline
 
gclshortt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Cobourg
Posts: 2,884
http://www.plctalk.net/qanda/showthread.php?t=63560

The above thread confirms that CCW running on windows 10.
One other possibility to check would be the USB driver.

Regards,
__________________
Garry
https://www.accautomation.ca
Connect with us on Facebook: facebook.com/accautomation/
  Reply With Quote
Old September 11th, 2019, 05:51 AM   #4
mcmjrty
Member
United States

mcmjrty is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: USA
Posts: 1
Just figured this out.

I know this is an old thread but I ended up here and probably so do others.If this has been answered somewhere else I guess this is redundant but oh well here it goes. Ok so on a Windows 7 machine when you plug into a 523/525 with a usb, a file pops up labeled PF52XUSB.EXE. What I did is use an older machine hook up to a 523 and copy that file to a usb stick. Then in my Windows 10 machine I right clicked on it and ran Troubleshoot Compatibility, then the option Use recommended settings for Windows XP mode. Save the settings and so now when I hook up to a 523/525 with my Windows 10 machine I click on the file I saved and it automatically runs that little .EXE in Windows XP mode. I will also note that with the Windows 10 machine nothing pops up now at all when you plug into the drive you just click on the PF52XUSB.EXE file that you altered earlier and then it connects to the drive.

Last edited by mcmjrty; September 11th, 2019 at 05:58 AM.
  Reply With Quote
Old September 11th, 2019, 10:50 AM   #5
Operaghost
Member
United States

Operaghost is offline
 
Operaghost's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Dallas, TX USA
Posts: 2,627
That's good to know. Perhaps RA should update their Tech Note with that workaround.

OG
  Reply With Quote
Reply
Jump to Live PLC Question and Answer Forum

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Topics
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
AB Powerflex 525 faults Type1 and Type2 Tom Kazakoff LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 1 December 20th, 2015 12:18 AM
Unity Pro XL 5.0 and Windows 2008 R2 kutuz LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 3 July 21st, 2011 03:04 PM
Windows XP Pro And Dos Software Donnchadh LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 15 January 14th, 2009 03:01 PM
AB Ultra5000 experiences Jiri Toman LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 8 August 9th, 2007 09:46 AM
Connect TI-545 to AB 1794-APB Flex I/O Profibus adapter MHennel LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 1 August 9th, 2005 07:18 AM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:20 AM.


.