Red Lion Crimson 3.1 complex expressions

Wootts

Hello all,
I am fairly new to programming HMI's and am working with Crimson 3.1 for the first time. I am trying to recreate an annunciator of general messages for the HMI. Currently I have half the screen displaying active alarms (ie Stop faults and failures) by using the 'alarm viewer' primitive and the lower half of the screen I have a data box that I want to display general messages.

I have single bits that I have tied to flags in crimson and I need those to generate messages in my data box. I am able to use an 'if' statement to 'return' my desired message. But my program will only display one message at a time. I can not seem to find a way to display multiple messages at once. I have some 40 bits coming from the PLC that I would like to be able to annunciate.

Any ideas on how I can accomplish this?

So if a bit is true, you want the display to show its associated text, and if the bit is false, it will show nothing, correct? And you probably want the box to just list the active (true) bits from top to bottom with no wasted space for bits that are false...that about right?

So if a bit is true, you want the display to show its associated text, and if the bit is false, it will show nothing, correct? And you probably want the box to just list the active (true) bits from top to bottom with no wasted space for bits that are false...that about right?

Yes that's what I'm trying to accomplish

This is what I currently have programmed. The data box will display a message if one of the tags is active but will not display more than one at a time.

20200428_134336.jpg 20200428_134322.jpg

I tested this in the 3.0 emulator and it works. I created a retentive cstring tag called "Message" and set its length (arbitrarily) to 400 characters. For its data value, I chose complex and wrote this code:

Code:
cstring t;
if (Msg_1) t := t + Msg_1.AsText + "|";
if (Msg_2) t := t + Msg_2.AsText + "|";