You are not registered yet. Please click here to register!


 
 
plc storereviewsdownloads
This board is for PLC Related Q&A ONLY. Please DON'T use it for advertising, etc.
 
Try our online PLC Simulator- FREE.  Click here now to try it.

---------->>>>>Get FREE PLC Programming Tips

New Here? Please read this important info!!!


Go Back   PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > LIVE PLC Questions And Answers

PLC training tools sale

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old May 21st, 2018, 01:12 PM   #1
robw53
Member
United Kingdom

robw53 is offline
 
robw53's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: south yorks
Posts: 514
RSLinx issues over VLANS

Hi,

I have a couple of PC's on our network, one that's been in a good few years, and one that I have just installed next to it. The issue I have with the new one is that I can ping the IP addresses of the PLC's, but when I setup the Eth driver in linx it displayed the processor name but displays a yellow icon and not the actual icon of the device I.e. Compactlogix processor.

I've also tried ETHIP driver and set it to browse remote subnet but still no luck! The older PC uses the ETH driver.

These are both connected directly into the Stratix 8300 and the older one can communicate fine across all VLANS but the newer one has this issue with RSLinx.

I read a comment somewhere about setting up the router to broadcast I think it was, but its strange one PC works and the other one doesn't.

Anybody have suggestions as to what might be causing this?

Regards

Rob
__________________
"So far as is reasonably practicable

"Not everything that can be counted counts and not everything that counts can be counted"
Albert Einstein
  Reply With Quote
Old May 21st, 2018, 01:29 PM   #2
mdim
Member
Bulgaria

mdim is offline
 
mdim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Sofia
Posts: 201
Are you sure that you have the .eds file for this PLC installed in RSLinx? Do you see the CompactLogix normally if you connect this PC directly in the same network as the PLC?
  Reply With Quote
Old May 21st, 2018, 01:57 PM   #3
robw53
Member
United Kingdom

robw53 is offline
 
robw53's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: south yorks
Posts: 514
The PC is currently running V30 of Studio 5000 so should have all the latest EDS files when RSLinx installed.

I did upload the EDS from the devices I tried to connect to, but this didn't change anything.

I will setup a PLC next to the PC and try connecting locally to it. My instincts are telling me it will be fine when not having to interact with the router.

Regards

Rob
__________________
"So far as is reasonably practicable

"Not everything that can be counted counts and not everything that counts can be counted"
Albert Einstein
  Reply With Quote
Old May 21st, 2018, 02:30 PM   #4
mdim
Member
Bulgaria

mdim is offline
 
mdim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Sofia
Posts: 201
Than maybe it could be something with the ports opened between your vlans. Did you check this:

https://rockwellautomation.custhelp..../898270/page/1
Access Level: Everyone
  Reply With Quote
Old May 21st, 2018, 03:15 PM   #5
robw53
Member
United Kingdom

robw53 is offline
 
robw53's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: south yorks
Posts: 514
No I haven't. Thanks I will try this tomorrow.

Rob
__________________
"So far as is reasonably practicable

"Not everything that can be counted counts and not everything that counts can be counted"
Albert Einstein
  Reply With Quote
Old May 23rd, 2018, 12:50 PM   #6
robw53
Member
United Kingdom

robw53 is offline
 
robw53's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: south yorks
Posts: 514
I tried your suggestion and connected my PC directly to an L33ER and i get the same issue. I tried uploading the EDS once again from the device to no avail. I even installed a slightly newer version of RSLinx i think it was 3.90 but still the same trouble.

I think i have seen a technote about clearing the database. But any other suggesions welcomed

Rob
__________________
"So far as is reasonably practicable

"Not everything that can be counted counts and not everything that counts can be counted"
Albert Einstein
  Reply With Quote
Old May 23rd, 2018, 01:03 PM   #7
dmargineau
Lifetime Supporting Member
United States

dmargineau is offline
 
dmargineau's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Midwest
Posts: 2,385
Do you know what Firmware Revision is running on the 1769-L33ER CPU?

Is it by any chance Rev.20.xy?
  Reply With Quote
Old May 23rd, 2018, 01:40 PM   #8
robw53
Member
United Kingdom

robw53 is offline
 
robw53's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: south yorks
Posts: 514
Hi,

The procssor is running V30 firmware and the PC i have the issue with just has V30 installed along with RSLinx V3.90 or 3.91

Regards

Rob
__________________
"So far as is reasonably practicable

"Not everything that can be counted counts and not everything that counts can be counted"
Albert Einstein
  Reply With Quote
Old May 23rd, 2018, 01:59 PM   #9
dmargineau
Lifetime Supporting Member
United States

dmargineau is offline
 
dmargineau's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Midwest
Posts: 2,385
I'd try connecting to the CPU via USB; there is something wrong with your Linx install EDS database and short of a 'clean' re-install (Uninstall, Delete Harmony Project, Reboot, Install) I don't quite see another way to mitigate the issue.

Connecting to the CPU via USB will automatically 'Install' the L33ER within your PC's communications EDS database.

It's worth giving it a try prior to the RSLinx 'clean' re-install.
  Reply With Quote
Old May 23rd, 2018, 02:41 PM   #10
robw53
Member
United Kingdom

robw53 is offline
 
robw53's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: south yorks
Posts: 514
The computer is relatively new so i think i will cut my losses and do a fresh install of all rockwell software.

I had tried the USB today, but even though the driver pop up said it had installed, it never appeared in Linx.

Whats involved in deleting the harmony project?

Regards

Rob
__________________
"So far as is reasonably practicable

"Not everything that can be counted counts and not everything that counts can be counted"
Albert Einstein
  Reply With Quote
Old May 23rd, 2018, 02:46 PM   #11
dmargineau
Lifetime Supporting Member
United States

dmargineau is offline
 
dmargineau's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Midwest
Posts: 2,385
Quote:
Originally Posted by robw53 View Post
Whats involved in deleting the harmony project?

Rob
http://plcqa.com/?qa=35/rslinx-class...-harmony-files

Delete the Harmony files prior to uninstalling Linx.

Then uninstall Linx and Studio5000.

Upon completion and reboot, install RSLinx first and then Studio5K.

Last edited by dmargineau; May 23rd, 2018 at 02:49 PM.
  Reply With Quote
Old May 23rd, 2018, 02:56 PM   #12
mdim
Member
Bulgaria

mdim is offline
 
mdim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Sofia
Posts: 201
Never had problems with Harmony, but I see lot of time it helps to other people. RA technote is 769010, access level: Everyone. You can also download the bat file from there.
  Reply With Quote
Old June 8th, 2018, 02:37 PM   #13
robw53
Member
United Kingdom

robw53 is offline
 
robw53's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: south yorks
Posts: 514
Just as an update....i had to remove studio 5000 and Rslinx and reinstall from scratch to get the devices to show correctly and allow me to go online with them.
__________________
"So far as is reasonably practicable

"Not everything that can be counted counts and not everything that counts can be counted"
Albert Einstein
  Reply With Quote
Reply
Jump to Live PLC Question and Answer Forum

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Topics
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
RSLinx Not Running in Background (CPR9 SR5) kdcui LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 11 July 9th, 2013 03:59 PM
RSlinx issues with scada channels(honeywell) lalas LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 7 May 11th, 2011 12:29 PM
RSlinx 2.53 with Vista support available Contr_Conn LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 7 September 4th, 2008 07:56 AM
Help! SLC505-rslinx-ethernet problem hatchor LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 31 March 5th, 2008 06:58 PM
Start RSLinx Minimized/Verify RSLinx Running zmanvortex LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 2 May 3rd, 2002 10:43 AM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:04 PM.


.