A plea for help...and mentor

damianjones

Hello All,

I am very new to PLC programming…about a 1.5 weeks. I was hired two weeks ago to be a project manager for a cabinet manufacturing company and one of my first projects is to program a PLC (Type: Bul. 1762 MicroLogix 1200 Series B – Name: ML1200) for dust collection. When hired I told the owner I didn’t have any experience in PLC (I had to ask what the initials stood for) and he assured me that if I could program COBOL or C I would not have a problem. I’m having a problem. I’ve started the tutor online, I’m now using the LogixPro Simulator to help me, but I’m having a tremendous brain **** and running into brick walls.

If someone with experience out there has a little time on their hands and would like the eternal gratitude of a stranger, Please help me out.

The dust collection program I think (imho) should be very simple. In the program I’m looking at (which has an auger instead of two fans) the code looks pretty complex. Damian’s dust logic how I think it goes in the real world (the owner is out of office a lot so I will have to get an approval of the logic before I say it is gospel). I have a list of I/O and info from the RSLogix 500 Cross Reference Report (Below).

What I am really looking for is to be able to converse via telephone/email with someone who can help me over the rough spots.

Thanks,

Damian
[email protected]

Damian’s dust logic:
1. Start truck fan ( this is the dust collecting container)
2. Wait 30 seconds
3. If truck fan tests bad end
4. Start dust tower fan 1
5. Start dust tower fan 2
6. Wait 30 seconds
7. If dust tower fan 1 test bad end1
8. If dust tower fan 2 test bad end2
9. Start bldg fan 1
10. Start bldg fan 2
11. If bldg fan 1 test bad end1
12. If bldg fan 2 test bad end2
13. : End
14. Flash alarm light
15. Stop bldg fan 1
16. Stop bldg fan 2
17. Wait 30 sec
18. Stop dust tower fan 1
19. Stop dust tower fan 2
20. Wait 30 sec
21. Stop truck fan
22. : End1
23. Flash alarm light