You are not registered yet. Please click here to register!


 
 
plc storereviewsdownloads
This board is for PLC Related Q&A ONLY. Please DON'T use it for advertising, etc.
 
Try our online PLC Simulator- FREE.  Click here now to try it.

New Here? Please read this important info!!!


Go Back   PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > LIVE PLC Questions And Answers

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old October 29th, 2021, 07:51 AM   #1
saultgeorge
Lifetime Supporting Member
United States

saultgeorge is offline
 
saultgeorge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: Detroit
Posts: 475
Studio V. 31.xx won't install

Hi folks.
I got a "new" z-book here at a new job and I am having a lot of trouble getting Studio V. 31.02 to install. We have it on a server and I've tried getting it directly from Rockwell. BTW Windows 10 enterprise V. 1909 64-bit
They gave me a smaller laptop without the features engineering needed and I got it on there OK so I'm figuring it's a machine issue.
As one can see by the snips, I have V. 19 and 20 plus linx and I also reinstalled FTV Services platform.
The snip with the install summary rings a bell but I can't remember what that was about. Something about that C++ business.
Anyway I'm going to need 31.xx and 32.04 on here like soon. It seems like we only have 2 or 3 machines with v.31 and of course I have a modification to make to the program on one of them.
Any direction would be appreciated. Thank you for all you do for folks on here.
Respectfully,
Attached Images
File Type: png FTV programs.PNG (38.7 KB, 10 views)
File Type: png Logix programs.PNG (25.8 KB, 11 views)
File Type: png V. 31 install.png (41.1 KB, 10 views)
__________________
"Instant success teaches one nothing. Failure provides the tools and instructions one needs to succeed."
  Reply With Quote
Old October 29th, 2021, 08:41 AM   #2
jstolaruk
Lifetime Supporting Member
United States

jstolaruk is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Detroit, SE Michigan
Posts: 3,642
I don't know if this will help but I installed v33 first on a new w10 laptop and then was able to install v28, 30,31,32 easily. I first tried v28 and was unsuccessful.
__________________
I don't always test my code but when I do, I do it in production.
  Reply With Quote
Old October 29th, 2021, 09:00 AM   #3
saultgeorge
Lifetime Supporting Member
United States

saultgeorge is offline
 
saultgeorge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: Detroit
Posts: 475
Quote:
Originally Posted by jstolaruk View Post
I don't know if this will help but I installed v33 first on a new w10 laptop and then was able to install v28, 30,31,32 easily. I first tried v28 and was unsuccessful.
Hi, thanks. V. 33 was actually on there and one of the guys said to take it off. I'll try that and post an update.
__________________
"Instant success teaches one nothing. Failure provides the tools and instructions one needs to succeed."
  Reply With Quote
Old October 29th, 2021, 11:06 AM   #4
saultgeorge
Lifetime Supporting Member
United States

saultgeorge is offline
 
saultgeorge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: Detroit
Posts: 475
Quote:
Originally Posted by jstolaruk View Post
I don't know if this will help but I installed v33 first on a new w10 laptop and then was able to install v28, 30,31,32 easily. I first tried v28 and was unsuccessful.
Hi, OK I installed V. 33 and then went to the lower versions. I still couldn't install 31.xx so I searched the information in the install report in the first screenshot. I then tried method 1 in the second screenshot and V. 31 installed OK then. One of the other engineers said to download something for that C++ but I didn't need to. Hopefully this will help someone some day.
Probably someone will reply with "You didn't know this?!"
Thank you so much for your time and help. I won't forget this one.
Attached Images
File Type: png V. 31 install.png (41.1 KB, 9 views)
File Type: png C++.PNG (37.3 KB, 8 views)
__________________
"Instant success teaches one nothing. Failure provides the tools and instructions one needs to succeed."
  Reply With Quote
Old October 29th, 2021, 11:15 AM   #5
PreLC
Member
United States

PreLC is offline
 
PreLC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2019
Location: Mars
Posts: 410
Something that might help you out: Rockwell now offers a first party multi version install for all Studios from V20-33.

They have it hidden under their "Additional downloads" section, if you are interested, I can post a link to other threads about it.

Regards,
PreLC
__________________
Ask not what your PLC can do for you, ask what you can do for your PLC.
  Reply With Quote
Old October 29th, 2021, 11:17 AM   #6
jstolaruk
Lifetime Supporting Member
United States

jstolaruk is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Detroit, SE Michigan
Posts: 3,642
Quote:
Originally Posted by PreLC View Post
Something that might help you out: Rockwell now offers a first party multi version install for all Studios from V20-33.

They have it hidden under their "Additional downloads" section, if you are interested, I can post a link to other threads about it.

Regards,
PreLC
+1 Good to know!
__________________
I don't always test my code but when I do, I do it in production.
  Reply With Quote
Old October 29th, 2021, 11:29 AM   #7
saultgeorge
Lifetime Supporting Member
United States

saultgeorge is offline
 
saultgeorge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: Detroit
Posts: 475
Quote:
Originally Posted by PreLC View Post
Something that might help you out: Rockwell now offers a first party multi version install for all Studios from V20-33.

They have it hidden under their "Additional downloads" section, if you are interested, I can post a link to other threads about it.

Regards,
PreLC
Thanks!! That would be a great link to have.
__________________
"Instant success teaches one nothing. Failure provides the tools and instructions one needs to succeed."
  Reply With Quote
Old December 2nd, 2021, 10:26 AM   #8
PreLC
Member
United States

PreLC is offline
 
PreLC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2019
Location: Mars
Posts: 410
Quote:
Originally Posted by saultgeorge View Post
Thanks!! That would be a great link to have.
Sorry, I've been travelling lately. Here it is: http://www.plctalk.net/qanda/showthr...=124843&page=2
__________________
Ask not what your PLC can do for you, ask what you can do for your PLC.
  Reply With Quote
Old December 2nd, 2021, 10:33 AM   #9
I_Automation
Member
United States

I_Automation is offline
 
I_Automation's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2020
Location: Detroit, Michigan USA
Posts: 688
When I have problems installing Studio on a Win10 I follow Rockwell's direction and go to the REDIST folder, then each subfolder and install that. Some things will popup a newer version is installed or that doesn't go with my computer, but once all the add-ons are installed Studio installs fine.
__________________
ivanovaautomation.com


Some Jobs Are Best Started With A Sawzall And A Dumpster On Castors
  Reply With Quote
Old December 2nd, 2021, 11:22 AM   #10
dmroeder
Lifetime Supporting Member
United States

dmroeder is online now
 
dmroeder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Vancouver, WA
Posts: 3,016
Every time I've ran into that (different versions), I've went into Add/Remove programs, found that Visuall C++ and repaired it, then install again.
  Reply With Quote
Reply
Jump to Live PLC Question and Answer Forum

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Topics
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
FactoryTalk View Studio fails to load tag base Crocodile Tears LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 8 October 9th, 2020 12:55 PM
Install Studio 5000 V32.03.01 after I installed V33.00.00? theColonel26 LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 7 October 3rd, 2020 06:23 PM
FT View SE Editing Without License Mark Cole LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 9 November 22nd, 2014 10:03 AM
factory talk : converting MER file to APA aminto89 LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 6 September 19th, 2014 06:25 AM
Factory Talk Studio 5.00 gosenbach LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 14 March 17th, 2009 10:30 AM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:59 PM.


.