PLC to HMI Profibus setup ?

GTX

Hi

I am trying to setup a profibus connection between a Siemens S7-314-2DP plc and a Siemens TP170B touch panel. The PLC and touch panel are the only two things on the profibus network so i got a profibus cable made up with the terminating ends (with looping resistor or something like that)

I have never done a profibus connection before and i am wondering where i should start for this kind of setup ? What settings do i need to set in order for the two devices to communicate over profibus ?

Thanks for any help, and i am sorry for my profibus "newbie" type question.

Barry

Hello, GTX;
First, in Step 7 (HWConfig), attribute a Profibus address to the DP port, and set the speed parameters of the bus. Save and download.
Then open Protool (everything gets easier at this point if you have integrated Protool into Step 7); in your Protool project, open the Controller (PLC) section, click on Parameters, choose Profibus-DP as the link, and select the PLC with the correct Profibus address (if there are more than one in the project). Save and download.
This should have set-up the comms link. Connect the Profibus cable. Just add tags in a test page to test it out (in an integrated project, you have access to all symbolic addresse of your PLC tags from the Symbol editor).

Hope this helps,
Daniel chartier

Thanks for your help Daniel !!

Ok i did what you said and now i am getting a "SF" Fault LED (Hardware or Software Error) and a BF (Bus Error) LED.

I setup the HMI as the master with a bus speed of 187.5 and an address of 1. I setup the PLC to be a slave with a bus speed of 187.5 and an address of 2.

I haven't integrated Protool into step7.

Any ideas why the two units aren't talking ?

PS - I know the profibus cables works because it is from an existing working profibus system.

Hello GTX;

The SF and BF LEDs being active means you have a Profibus configuration error on your CPU.