PLC used as CNC to control Mill

starman

Hello, I'm looking for advice. First of all I am new to the world of PLC's. I am getting involved into machines and PLC's for fun. I have a large copy milling machine that I am interested in changing to a full CNC capable mill. I have some interest in using the TI-405 series PLC's to control the mill because I have some and cost is low. The mill has rotory encoders to control the servo drives. There are tachogenerators for feedback and also the mill has glass linear encoders that I can use for feedback also. I am wondering what the capabilities of the TI-405 (435) are and if it is a good possibility to use them to control the mill. I am not worried about my ability because I have time. :) Also if there is anyone that has some knowledge about how DirectSoft32 will help me out here I would appreciate that too.

The project: Copy Mill to CNC using PLC's
The Copy Mill: HC-1600 from OKK full working order
The PLC's: TI-405 series with many I/O's to choose from
The programmer: 405 series handheld

Thanks.

starman.

What are you planning to keep from the existing controls for the milling machine? The motors? The drives? I don't think that Koyo offers a motion controller module for the 405. I didn't see one in my old (1999) catalog, but I also didn't go to the website to check.

When you say 'full CNC', what do you mean? You won't be able to create part programs using G codes in a PLC. You won't be able to do interpolation between axes. If you try to use the PLC to close the position loop, you'll probably be disappointed with the results. I'm not saying that you can't use a PLC to do motion control. I'm only saying that you have to bear in minnd that you'll be dealing with scan times in the 5 - 10 millisecond range or longer. That's an eternity when you're trying to achieve tight tolerance and rapid response. You may be able to position accurately and repeatably, but you won't be able to do it quickly.