Interposing Relay(s)

okiebob

I am looking for some info concerning the use of Interposing relays, I am using a PLC 5 with 1771 OAD outs to control 12 solenoids. I have heard and read that the inductive "flyback, kickback, EMF" could/will smoke the output channels. BUT I have also read (AB wiring and grounding principles) that using a solid state output with a relay would then ALSO require a surge suppressor / snubber. The relay real estate is not a problem, but I don't want to create a maintenance problem by installing extra hardware to fail and mechanical devices at that. I understand the effect of the inductive kick and have no probs fusing / relay / snubbing as needed but why waste the effort if the 1771-OAD CAN handle the solenoids without further hardware. All replies welcome. Thanks folks

Use transistor outputs with relays fitted with flywheel diodes so that you do not smoke your transistors. I have been using this method for nearly 10 years and have not smoked an output yet.
Beware of SSR outputs. Unless the load is high enough they generally do not turn off properly.
I found the Omron G2R relays, with diodes, to be very good and reliable. Have also used Izumi with success.
beerchug

No Problem

I haven't had any problems using AB cards powering solenoids, and have been doing it for the last seven years on thousands of solenoids. I have had the problem where the card will leak enough voltage [no real current though] to fire or hold the relays in when the output is off. We solved the problem by adding a shunt resistor to "produce" a load, but that was several years ago.