To Latch or Unlatch; That is the question! Help Please!

donl517

I am not a novice programmer but I have never used the N7 registers the same way I would use a B3. However I am modifying a program for a customer and the original author used the N7 registers.

I have read several posts and as I understand it the N7 registers behave exactly the same as a B3 when addressed througn XIC, XIO, OTE. If that is all correct then when a bit is latched in an AB Micrologix 1500 it HAS to be unlatched later in the program. This is true for B3 and N7 correct?

So if you saw:
B3:0/0(L)
B3:0/1(L)

And there were no (U) instructions for either of these anywhere in the program once they went true they would stay on forever correct? (even through power loss)

So if they are then used like this:

B3:0/0XIO B3:0/1XIC

They would cancel each other out and the rung would never go true correct?

Either I am losing my mind or this program should never have worked. There are 15 latched bits that are never unlatched anywhere in this program. Does anyone have any thoughts here?

Thanks a million,
Don

Is anything writing to the word level of the bits?
Do a find all and see what references.
I like to use a N7 int to contain my status bits, then write a 0 to the whole word when I want to clear it all.

Also,

If you zip the program up I can tell you real quick exactly where they are getting unlatched.

So if he used N7:21 and latched several of the bits and then used a FLL instruction with source=0 Destination=#N7:21 Length=1 That would clear the latch of each of the bits? Would the same apply to the B3 Registers?

Edited for clarity:

Both will work. The clear will be faster, as it's not an array type instruction.

Mov 0 will also work for the N7 type registers.

Last edited:
I have use latches that never get unlatched, they are only used for testing purposes. Most of the time I go back and remove them but it is possible that I could forget one.