You are not registered yet. Please click here to register!


 
 
plc storereviewsdownloads
This board is for PLC Related Q&A ONLY. Please DON'T use it for advertising, etc.
 
Try our online PLC Simulator- FREE.  Click here now to try it.

---------->>>>>Get FREE PLC Programming Tips

New Here? Please read this important info!!!


Go Back   PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > LIVE PLC Questions And Answers

PLC training tools sale

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old May 23rd, 2018, 04:22 AM   #1
pbaker88
Member
Australia

pbaker88 is offline
 
pbaker88's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Victoria
Posts: 22
Post Omron Devicenet EDS

G'day All,

Having some trouble with an omron devicenet network with nodes going into bus fault. CPU is a CS1G with a DRM21-V1 devicenet maser.

Network has had no previous issues until the last 5 weeks where omron V1000 drives (Yaskawa) are randomly dropping off the network and need to be reset.

Would a wrong version EDS file in integrator cause any issues with comms?
  Reply With Quote
Old May 23rd, 2018, 01:02 PM   #2
Ken Roach
Lifetime Supporting Member + Moderator
United States

Ken Roach is offline
 
Ken Roach's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 14,265
In general, EDS files are used to give the configuration software information about the master and slave devices.

If a system runs as configured and then starts indicating signal quality related faults (like Bus Off), then the problems are almost certainly in the wiring and installation.

I had a system where V1000 drives would drop off the network "randomly" and found that the installer had put in a DC power supply with loosely festooned individual conductors that ran a few dozen feet in a duct with 480V output cable from the MCC. Simply twisting the conductors together and tucking them on the far side of the duct solved that problem, but not until after the customer had spent months ranting about how terrible DeviceNet was.
  Reply With Quote
Old June 22nd, 2018, 09:14 AM   #3
pbaker88
Member
Australia

pbaker88 is offline
 
pbaker88's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Victoria
Posts: 22
Thanks for your response Ken,

A quick note to close the post off. It was found that the devicenet trunk cable ran through a small amount of drag chain on a moving carriage. The cable was breaking down around one of the bends which caused these intermittent faults.
  Reply With Quote
Old June 22nd, 2018, 06:02 PM   #4
Ken Roach
Lifetime Supporting Member + Moderator
United States

Ken Roach is offline
 
Ken Roach's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 14,265
Thanks very much for the follow-up information !
  Reply With Quote
Reply
Jump to Live PLC Question and Answer Forum

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Topics
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
trouble with 1769-SDN devicenet scanner - lost Omron NE1A node bboytaktix LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 1 August 2nd, 2017 02:42 PM
ABB ACS355 eds file for DeviceNET OkiePC LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 6 June 18th, 2012 09:00 PM
OMRON Devicenet EDS files ???? ronny_resistor LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 10 August 30th, 2010 05:35 PM
EDS file for Devicenet card (ALTIVAR 71) Pedrito LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 2 July 14th, 2009 05:52 PM
Creating An EDS File for DeviceNet recondaddy LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 2 September 25th, 2008 04:53 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:15 AM.


.