You are not registered yet. Please click here to register!


 
 
plc storereviewsdownloads
This board is for PLC Related Q&A ONLY. Please DON'T use it for advertising, etc.
 
Try our online PLC Simulator- FREE.  Click here now to try it.

---------->>>>>Get FREE PLC Programming Tips

New Here? Please read this important info!!!


Go Back   PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > LIVE PLC Questions And Answers

PLC training tools sale

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old June 11th, 2018, 12:30 AM   #1
ammauric
Member
United States

ammauric is offline
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Michigan
Posts: 10
AB 1746-HS module & Offsets

Hello everyone,

I have a project I've been working on involving a single 1746-HS (IMC 110) and a SLC 5/02 - the original 1746-HS had fried without any backup and the customer wants me to attempt reprogramming the replacement based on what I've interpreted from the PLC program before they go to more drastic measures of replacing the equipment.

The system I'm working with is rather simplistic. It's a roller (rotary axis) which feeds steel into a press a specific distance, based on a user input.

I've had success so far in programming within the MML, setting up manual functions, and triggering events from the PLC, but there is an offset that comes from the operator that I haven't been able to get working. The PLC outputs it to word 3 (MSW) and the existing logic toggles between speed override (set to 0) and position offset to signify the change, since I believe the changing of states is what triggers the write process.

However, I'm not sure how to access this register within the MML. I thought it would be shared with $OFFSET, but I can't seem to get that function to work at all. I've tried using it similarly to $SPEED but no matter what my offset remains 0 and the servo moves the same amount.

Thanks for any help anyone might be able to provide. I've already spent a couple of days on this project, and a lot of time outside of it combing through the programming manual... I'm beginning to reach my wits end.
  Reply With Quote
Old June 11th, 2018, 12:31 PM   #2
ammauric
Member
United States

ammauric is offline
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Michigan
Posts: 10
A quick update to this, I found out while working this morning that the offset command doesn't work on the MOVE BY move command for some reason, even though its descriptor says it works on all move commands. I've circumvented this by using MOVE TO CURPOS, and when using a static offset it's working exactly as expected.

However, as soon as I load an offset into memory, it won't offset at all as if it were 0.
  Reply With Quote
Old June 22nd, 2018, 11:30 PM   #3
ammauric
Member
United States

ammauric is offline
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Michigan
Posts: 10
I had solved this awhile ago, but should anyone stumble upon this thread in the future with a similar problem. What I had found was a discrepancy in the programming manual. It lists a table of bits for mapping the Speed Override, Offset Position & Preset Position but has two of the columns for the output bits swapped so I had my PLC program commanding the wrong types of overrides or invalid ones.

The table is listed in two separate areas, and I had only been referencing the latter incorrect one.
  Reply With Quote
Reply
Jump to Live PLC Question and Answer Forum

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Topics
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
1746 HSCE high-speed counter module mgruber LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 12 September 12th, 2012 11:32 PM
AB Power Supply Module failuring denniskt LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 18 August 8th, 2012 06:29 AM
AB SLC BTM module alarms 504bloke LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 2 May 9th, 2012 07:40 AM
AB SLC 5/03 and AB 1770 KF3 Interface Module yuzu LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 3 December 27th, 2005 08:43 PM
AB Analog Input Module Wiring... Eric Nelson LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 3 May 6th, 2002 09:37 AM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:57 AM.


.