You are not registered yet. Please click here to register!


 
 
plc storereviewsdownloads
This board is for PLC Related Q&A ONLY. Please DON'T use it for advertising, etc.
 
Try our online PLC Simulator- FREE.  Click here now to try it.

---------->>>>>Get FREE PLC Programming Tips

New Here? Please read this important info!!!


Go Back   PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > LIVE PLC Questions And Answers

PLC training tools sale

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old September 18th, 2018, 10:50 PM   #1
asteroide
Member
Spain

asteroide is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: der
Posts: 82
Arrow Micro 820 RTC how to sync?

Hello Friends

We have 4 Micro 820 (2080-LC20-20QWB) and We are using the built in RTC, the problem is that it is not exact.

In one month We have a difference of 15 seconds or more between RTC PLCs.

Is it posible to sync the RTC in the 4 PLC? How could We do that?

Thanks in advance
  Reply With Quote
Old September 19th, 2018, 06:05 AM   #2
damica1
Member
United States

damica1 is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: Illinois
Posts: 529
All they all on the same network? If so, use the SNTP.QUERY function to get time from a local server and use the same time server for all 4 micro820.

You can program to update as often as needed.

If on different networks this would become more tricky if your time needs to be very precise.
__________________
David M. Camp

Marshall Electric / https://mei-tech.com/monitor-and-control

Please Download from our download section "Monitor and Control" .pdf.
  Reply With Quote
Old September 19th, 2018, 06:34 AM   #3
tarik1978
Member
Morocco

tarik1978 is online now
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: casablanca
Posts: 379
The Micro 820 doesn't support time synchrosiation through NTP server
see this Technote: https://rockwellautomation.custhelp....il/a_id/510414

also this one about time drifting in Micro 820: https://rockwellautomation.custhelp....il/a_id/611484

In my opinion you can use one plc as a Master and update the RTC of the 3 others
  Reply With Quote
Old September 19th, 2018, 06:57 AM   #4
damica1
Member
United States

damica1 is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: Illinois
Posts: 529
Quote:
Originally Posted by tarik1978 View Post
The Micro 820 doesn't support time synchrosiation through NTP server
see this Technote: https://rockwellautomation.custhelp....il/a_id/510414

also this one about time drifting in Micro 820: https://rockwellautomation.custhelp....il/a_id/611484

In my opinion you can use one plc as a Master and update the RTC of the 3 others
Actually by using the Function block I listed and the set-RTC function it does support NTP time server's.

Please see attach files and it will show you how.
Attached Files
File Type: pdf RA_SNTP_QUERY UDFB.pdf (285.4 KB, 10 views)
File Type: pdf RA_RTC_SET UDFB.pdf (281.7 KB, 6 views)
File Type: pdf RA_SOCKET_ERROR_DESC UDFB.pdf (274.7 KB, 6 views)
__________________
David M. Camp

Marshall Electric / https://mei-tech.com/monitor-and-control

Please Download from our download section "Monitor and Control" .pdf.
  Reply With Quote
Old September 19th, 2018, 11:53 PM   #5
asteroide
Member
Spain

asteroide is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: der
Posts: 82
Hi!

Hello, thanks for your response.

All of they are in the same network.

What do you mean a local server? a PC connected always to the PLCs? an HMI o what else?

In the other hand, in case that a PLC were used as a master how we can update the time in the other PLCs?


Thanks again
  Reply With Quote
Old September 20th, 2018, 05:37 AM   #6
damica1
Member
United States

damica1 is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: Illinois
Posts: 529
Local Time Server = A PC that gets its time from a "NTP SERVER" and then all 4 plc's gets their time from that PC, or a local HMI.

You could also setup one of the PLC's as a time server and let the other 3 get their time from that PLC. (Note: This will require a little more programming - because now you will have to communicate between the PLC's)

Here's how I do this, all of our HMI's have built in "NTP TIME" service, so I set this up and make sure it's working as I want. Then I use my date/time variables from the HMI to keep my PLC date/time updated.

Just study the information I provided and you should be able to get it working.
__________________
David M. Camp

Marshall Electric / https://mei-tech.com/monitor-and-control

Please Download from our download section "Monitor and Control" .pdf.
  Reply With Quote
Reply
Jump to Live PLC Question and Answer Forum

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Topics
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
CIP Generic Read using Micro 820 PLC arhoward1105 LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 3 April 19th, 2018 12:21 AM
Micro 820 to other Micro 820's? Racer5039 LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 2 February 25th, 2018 04:20 PM
Micrologix 1100 or micro 820 papejo LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 4 July 20th, 2017 09:32 AM
Micro 830 RTC module setup EnviroService LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 3 July 15th, 2016 03:34 PM
Micro 820 Messaging SLJackson LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 1 July 3rd, 2015 03:13 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:05 PM.


.