You are not registered yet. Please click here to register!


 
 
plc storereviewsdownloads
This board is for PLC Related Q&A ONLY. Please DON'T use it for advertising, etc.
 
Try our online PLC Simulator- FREE.  Click here now to try it.

---------->>>>>Get FREE PLC Programming Tips

New Here? Please read this important info!!!


Go Back   PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > LIVE PLC Questions And Answers

PLC training tools sale

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old May 29th, 2010, 03:04 PM   #1
Sergeand
Member
United States

Sergeand is offline
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Illinois
Posts: 8
SLC 5/01 Compiler Error

I am trying to update a program in a SLC 5/01. I am using a PIC and the associated driver, when I start RSLinx and do RSWho I can see the PLC and Linx picks up the controller type and name, but when I go to logix to upload, download, anything, it looks like it is working and then pops up "Compiler Error:Unknown".

I'd flash the PLC and re-load, but it works with a non AB HMI (Zoid?) and I'm afraid I won't be able to reconnect the link to it. It must've worked somehow because there is a copy of the logic on our PLC laptop. Any suggestions?
  Reply With Quote
Old May 29th, 2010, 03:56 PM   #2
Ken Roach
Lifetime Supporting Member + Moderator
United States

Ken Roach is offline
 
Ken Roach's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 14,293
When a very old compiler from the AI-500 or APS software is used on an old fixed or 5/01 or 5/02 controller, it's possible for the more modern RSLogix 500 compiler to not be able to decompile the program.

You can use the AI-500 upload utility to get the program out of the controller, and once you open the resulting file with RSLogix 500 you'll be able to use RSLogix thereafter.

http://rockwellautomation.custhelp.c...ail/a_id/43708
  Reply With Quote
Old May 29th, 2010, 04:01 PM   #3
Sergeand
Member
United States

Sergeand is offline
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Illinois
Posts: 8
Mickey, I have tried opening the program (in logix) and then going online to no avail.

Ken I'll give the AI-500 utility a shot and get back to you, but like I told Mickey I have a copy in logix 500 currently. Could it have been obtained using another means?
  Reply With Quote
Old September 19th, 2018, 04:14 PM   #4
sharky nrk
Member
United States

sharky nrk is offline
 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: Hutto, TX
Posts: 1
Sorry to resurrect an ancient thread but I am in a pickle. It would appear you can only run AI-500 utility in PRE windows XP environments? Is there another way to do this as I do not have anything running an operating system that old. I need to get a program from a SLC 5/01 that is giving me the compiler error and was likely written prior to 500.
  Reply With Quote
Reply
Jump to Live PLC Question and Answer Forum

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Topics
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Allen Bradley SLC 5/01 dijequeyo LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 2 November 10th, 2009 03:03 PM
SLC 5/01 Stuck Runtime error Help needed micgent LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 3 August 25th, 2009 12:58 PM
How to Interface with 1784-PCMK to SLC 5/01 mapizarro LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 7 March 2nd, 2009 02:40 PM
erasing memory slc 5/01 bakerboy_99ca LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 3 March 7th, 2005 07:05 PM
SLC 5/01 a couple simple questions natew LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 18 February 24th, 2005 11:01 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:02 PM.


.