Analog Input Calculations

Brad B

I am working on my first project involving analog inputs and would apppreciate it if someone could verify my math before we make a purchase.

I have a 10k Ohm Pot that needs to control an analog input which requires a 0-20mA signal. I will be using a 12V supply voltage, and a calculated 475 Ohm resistor. The input card has 125 Ohms impedance.

So the circuit goes as follows:

12 Volt Supply
10K Ohm Pot
475 Ohm Resistor
125 Ohm Analog Input
0 Volt Ground

When Pot is off:

I = 12V / (O Ohm + 475 Ohm + 125 Ohm) = 20 mA

When Pot is fully on:

I = 12 V / (10000 Ohm + 475 Ohm + 125 Ohm) = 1.13 mA

Does this sound like it will work? Are there any caveats I should be aware of? Thank you for any imput!

P.S. I am not an electrician, but a CAD designer thrust into the world of PLC's.

We use something very like this for testing panels and logic. It will work, but there are a couple of cautions:

1) the actual signal will be very sensitive to your power supply regulation. If you have a 10% dip in power supply voltage, you will get a corresponding dip in the analog signal even if the pot position is unchanged

2) if you have bad connections or long wire lengths your signals will also be affected.

3) EMI and RFI might be a problem (but probably not if you are staying inside a control panel.

If you want an extremely robust and accurate system, you should probably invest in a signal conditioner that converts the potentiometer to a 4-20 mA signal (M-Systems, Action Instruments, A-Pi etc. etc.) Remeber that a true potentiometer transducer works off the diferential voltage between the wiper and the two legs. That makes it more repeatable and stable than your circuit, which is actually a variable resistor not a potentiometer (picky difference, but true anyway).

I would also reccomend using a signal conditioner and 4-20ma signal.
It will save you a lot of time and trouble, with the plus that these things rarely fail.