Sizing Fuses for Transformer

redeye1234

Hi Everyone,

I am a student and am new here and I have a question that is not a plc topic. I would like to know how to go about sizing fuses on the primary side of a transformer. The transformer is 10KVA. the primary voltage is 480V three phase and the secondary is 200V three phase. I fused the secondary based on the load. The primary already has a 30 amp breaker. My task is to put a disconnect switch with j fuses before the breaker. My question is would the fuses be of the same value as the breaker? My answer came out to 30.05 amps. My calculation is as follows - 10000/(480*1.732). I was told to calculate my fuses based on the secondary load. I am not sure about this and would like a second opinion. Thanks.

I wanted to update my calculations. I got 30.05 because I am basing my fuses at a 250% rating. (10000/(480*1.732))*2.5

Hi and welcome to the forum. I have been an electrician for years and finally got into programming.
What I would advise you to do is look in the most current edition of the NEC. I had last used the 2014 edition for my journeyman license renewal. Transformers are Section 450. Read carefully, because there are other sections it will refer you to reference regarding feeders for transformers, branch circuits and numerous tables that are sprinkled about the code book. Hope this helps you and again welcome to the forum.

Hi Everyone,