You are not registered yet. Please click here to register!


 
 
plc storereviewsdownloads
This board is for PLC Related Q&A ONLY. Please DON'T use it for advertising, etc.
 
Try our online PLC Simulator- FREE.  Click here now to try it.

---------->>>>>Get FREE PLC Programming Tips

New Here? Please read this important info!!!


Go Back   PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > LIVE PLC Questions And Answers

PLC training tools sale

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old December 21st, 2017, 01:41 PM   #1
mcmenomy8
Member
United States

mcmenomy8 is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: Georgia
Posts: 6
Count on Time

I'm a beginner using GX Works 3

I need to count the on/run time of a device in seconds, minutes and hours. How would I program this using ladder logic?

Look forward to some good suggestions.
  Reply With Quote
Old December 21st, 2017, 02:06 PM   #2
doomsword
Member
Croatia

doomsword is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Location: Zagreb
Posts: 108
Quote:
Originally Posted by mcmenomy8 View Post
I'm a beginner using GX Works 3

I need to count the on/run time of a device in seconds, minutes and hours. How would I program this using ladder logic?

Look forward to some good suggestions.
Hi,

you can use clock bits, if you use FX5U then 1s clock bit is SM412. Use counter function to increase DInt type of tag (seconds) with SM412.
You can get minutes and hours by dividing that number by 60 and 3600 (using integer division).
  Reply With Quote
Old December 21st, 2017, 02:24 PM   #3
mcmenomy8
Member
United States

mcmenomy8 is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: Georgia
Posts: 6
Quote:
Originally Posted by doomsword View Post
Hi,

you can use clock bits, if you use FX5U then 1s clock bit is SM412. Use counter function to increase DInt type of tag (seconds) with SM412.
You can get minutes and hours by dividing that number by 60 and 3600 (using integer division).

I'm using the Q-Series, will this still work? I don't think I'm using the FX5U. I'm pretty new to this. I'm a little confused by the sm412 in the Counter. How does that look set up?
  Reply With Quote
Old December 21st, 2017, 02:48 PM   #4
doomsword
Member
Croatia

doomsword is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Location: Zagreb
Posts: 108
Quote:
Originally Posted by mcmenomy8 View Post
I'm using the Q-Series, will this still work? I don't think I'm using the FX5U. I'm pretty new to this. I'm a little confused by the sm412 in the Counter. How does that look set up?
If you use Q-series, then you use GX Works2. There's always clock bits in any processor.
For Q series it's M8013.

https://imgur.com/AaY5iyv

Instead "Command" use M8013. It will activate every 1s and will increase Tag in DInt format every second, making it second counter.
  Reply With Quote
Old December 21st, 2017, 03:33 PM   #5
mcmenomy8
Member
United States

mcmenomy8 is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: Georgia
Posts: 6
This was very helpful! Thanks!
  Reply With Quote
Reply
Jump to Live PLC Question and Answer Forum

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Topics
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
ENBT-1756 Connection Time OUT xyzinfo LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 8 April 6th, 2017 08:30 PM
Need some adice on this Sequencer program with dwell time. Gobbling Ganster LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 4 April 30th, 2015 10:16 PM
Learning Step 7 asterof LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 25 November 26th, 2011 06:34 PM
WinCC 7.0 PLC Time Sync erdemsvri LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 0 February 22nd, 2011 07:00 AM
STEP7 OB's sample time issue Pandiani LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 4 March 24th, 2008 08:40 AM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:51 AM.


.