problem with s5 and wago distributed i/o

catalin78

i have a s5 948 with im 308 for profibus , and field i/o its wago
the problem it's the following :
a random fieldcoupler goes into i/o error rest of the field couplers work but im 308 stops and bf led blinks
every time when de bus is faulty it's a i/o error on a random coupler so i don't think the distributed i/o is faulty , and the problem was started along when the installation was NEW
If any of you has a ideea please let me know :) help!:)
thanks

It looks like you have a real nasty problem there.
Support from Siemens and WAGO will try to blame each other. Still, contact them both with your problems and hope that they can/will help you.

I think that you have to go online with the IM308 via COM PROFIBUS and try to see if there are diagnostics information somewhere. Personally, I have no experience with this.

Also, on http://www.sps-foren.de/ there is a greater chance of contacting someone with experience with IM308.
Go to the "feldbusse" section and do not be afraid to ask in english !

catalin78

I have a bit of experience with IM308's, but not with WAGO I/O, I have used Beckhoff modules with them.

You say that this problem has been around since new, I would guess that the bus parameters have not been set correctly. I would check the baud rate setting and try a slower rate and see if this helps. There is also a setting for the amount of 'retries', this might be too low.

Have you got a copy of com profibus so that you can interogate the bus settings?

Could you post a copy of the bus configuration? I could have a look at it then and see if I can spot a problem.

Paul

catalin78 said:
i want to check wiring parametrization with com profibus but can i import the im 308 parametrization from network?

I see you replied to Jesper while I was typing my reply.