AB Simple DeviceNet addressing question?

uptown47

Lifetime Supporting Member
Hi all,

I have an allen bradley PLC (5/03 CPU) the 1st card is a devicenet card with 32 words inputs and 32 words outputs.

I'm a complete newbie to AB so bear that in mind when reading and responding to this question.. ;)

I need a couple of inputs at one of the nodes. There are no inputs free but a full output card (i.e. 4 bits) is free. Can I just take out the output card and swap it with an input card?

If so.. are the addresses created the same as the Output addresses but just with an I in front of them. ie.

Output card has O:1.11/0 - O:1.11/3

I swap it with an input card do they become..

I:1.11/0 - I:1.11/3

??

I've only used AB a couple of times in the past and I've never used DeviceNet before so any help/pointers will be most appreciated.

Many thanks

:site:

You need to get the software called RsNetworks for DeviceNet.
That will allow you to setup your nodes the way that you want them...
ONLY then can you start to even think about "changing" cards.

Rule of thumb: If you don't know, don't touch it until someone that does know can help.

Can you access your PLC with an Ethernet connection?
If so, you just need to access the software to re-configure your DNT file appropriately.

If you cannot connect ethernet-wise, you will have to buy the specific cable required to connect directly to the DeviceNet Scanner Card.
Do you have a DNT file for the system that is currently in place?

The Node that you are speaking about, replacing the card, can you give us a vendor p/n or anything? Is it like Beckhoff I/O or something?

There are some tutorials that can help you a little on the web...
http://www.bin95.com/DeviceNet_Industrial_Network.htm
http://literature.rockwellautomation.com/idc/groups/literature/documents/gr/dnet-gr001_-en-e.pdf

Last edited:
Hi,

The module is a 1734 ADN DeviceNet Point IO
http://www.odva.org/tabid/151/ctl/Detail/mid/512/xmid/17334/xmfid/7/Default.aspx