Again and again. How to start?

Alex Pel

Hi, All!
Great forum, I enjoy reading for almost one year.
I am an electrician, PLC panel builder. Also I participate in start-up of water/wastewater projects by setting VFDs and instruments, and I do as-built drawings.
The next step in my professional growth I consider as a PLC programming. Unfortunately our company doesn’t do this job. We receive already designed projects and that engineers do the programming too. Sometimes I even didn’t see the programmer who uploads the code on-line. I would like to say my boss: - “I can program the PLC. Include RSLogix 500, RSLinx and programming time in your next bid” but I am not ready yet.
AB instructions are not problems for me, but as someone mentioned here: - “The problem is – to bring all of them together”. I understand how everything works in our projects, theoretically I can design and write the program but I have never seen any real world program. I suspect there are lots of details like: safety, reliability, etc.
So, Ladies and Gentlemen all I need to start, as I think, is a real world water or wastewater project to learn. I have RSLogix 500 Starter 10pt but very soon I am going to get the real RSLogix 500. I will be highly appreciative for any suggestion. Thank you very much All.

I'm a firm believer in learning by doing. Someone else may suggest something better, but you could start by doing a make believe project based on your real world situation.

1. Describe your application, whatever it may be. Be sure to include interlocks, faults, alarms etc....

2. Make a list of all your I/O, type, voltage, etc...
24V discrete in/out, analog in/out, pulse etc...
3. Specify your hardware.
PLC, instruments, etc....
4. Write the programm for above.
5. Post your project and someone will help you.

Ken

Try an imaginary washing machine.

They have everything a beginner can wish for.

They have valves (Hot and cold)
2 motors (spin and drain)
Temerature control
Level controls