Plc's programmed offline using a pc

Ant-plc-man

this is my first time here and I don't really know how basic the questions can be. Please forgive me if this is too basic a question... how are a plc and pc connected together and can I get a diagram from anywhere showing this? Can anyone tell me the advantages of using this system over a hand held programming panel?

Ant you really should read Chapter 1 of your class book, then follow by reading the other chapters. Let's assume you arent a student and do not have a class book, buy Phil's book as a reference, read the tutorial on this site, read thru all the posts. There are a number of plc makers that have in depth support sites with manuals etc available that will explain alot in detail.
http://www.ab.com
http://www.gefanuc.com
http://www.sea.siemens.com

These questions are very basic so expect some razzing and READ READ

There is no limit to how basic the questions can be. However, your questions sound like they're taken directly from your homework assignment. You'll find that we tend to be willing to help those who show a willingness to help themselves by doing the necessary background tasks such as paying attention in class and reading the assigned text.

I'm going to answer your questions with additional questions. I hope you'll be an exception from the students who normally post here. By that, I mean I hope you'll continue to post.

If you were the developer of programming software for PLCs, how would make the connection between the PC running the software and the PLC? Keep in mind that when this type of software was developed, the predominant operating system was DOS. Assuming that every manufacturer of PLCs approaches the task of programming differently, where would you expect to find specific information relating to the connections between the programming software and the PLC?