Die casting machine servo valve shot control

russrmartin

Hi all. We've got a client who has a die casting machine that they are planning to upgrade. The proposed solution is AB compactlogix, the existing control is an old Bosch system, with a Moog servo valve and controller. The Mook equipment will all stay, the AB will just replace all of the discrete control, and will feed the signals to the Moog controller. They are extremely concerned with controlling the actual shot. The typical stroke follows a velocity profile, until a target pressure is achieved, signaling that the cavity is full. At that point, the velocity profile yields to a pressure profile during the solidification of the metal. The signals provided back are a quadrature type signal on the ram itself, and actual pressure at the ram head. As I look at this, I don't see controlling the shot being a problem, but I have no experience with this type of machine. Are there any potential major issues that would keep one from simply using two separate simple PID loops for each respective profile? Any potential landmine issues that you may have experienced, I am game to hear. Thanks.

Russ

Do you realize that if your die cast machine moves at 200 inches per second the position will change by 0.2 inches every millisecond? The point is that scan time is critical, the faster the better. How fast are the analog inputs and outputs used for control? An analog input with a time constant in the 100 micro second range is required. Again, the shorter the time constant the better.

You really should consider using a fast motion controller designed to do the job. A controller with 0.5 millisecond deterministic scan or faster would be a good start.

It is very difficult/impossible to avoid the pressure spike when the die is full. Even if the controller has a scan time of 0.5 milliseconds the pressure will increase quite a bit during that time.

See this thread