IODD and plc tags

blueberry

Hi, I am relatively new to IO link devices and is working on a SMC pressure regulator. The IODD file is nice and easy to config the device but I would like to use the PLC to control this device. (I am using balluff master block)
Here are the questions:
How do you generate tags using the IODD file? I can see some parameters in the text file but have no clues how to use them.
</Variable>
<Variable id="Gain" accessRights="rw" index="66" defaultValue="9">
<Datatype xsi:type="UIntegerT" bitLength="8">
<ValueRange lowerValue="0" upperValue="15" />
</Datatype>
<Name textId="V_N_Gain" />
<Description textId="V_D_Gain" />

</VariableCollection>
<ProcessDataCollection>
<ProcessData id="P_ProcessData">
<ProcessDataIn id="PI_ProcessDataIn" bitLength="16">
<Datatype xsi:type="UIntegerT" bitLength="16" />
<Name textId="PD_IN_PD_IN_data" />
</ProcessDataIn>
<ProcessDataOut id="PI_ProcessDataOut" bitLength="16">
<Datatype xsi:type="UIntegerT" bitLength="16" />
<Name textId="PD_OUT_PD_OUT_data" />
</ProcessDataOut>
</ProcessData>
</ProcessDataCollection>

This device does not come with an AOI which is why I am trying to find a way to read and write to it. Any help would be appreciated !

The Iodd file is only a definition for the io link master on how to communicate and process the data the io link device produces.

If you want the data in the plc you need to process that further from the io link master, not the iodd file. How that happens depends on the plc manufacturer and the end device you have.

Start with telling us about which plc you are using. And the part number of your io link master.

Balluff BNI EIP 508 105 z015 with AOI BNI006A is my master block
5069 L320ER is my PLC
ITV2050 ION2N X395 is the regulator
Some say to use MSG instruction, but I am clueless what to fill in those boxes!

This is the manual for the Balluff block you listed. Starting on page 12 it walks you through how to setup the block in Studio 5000.