VM WARE PLC Connection

jsock

I am new to VMs so excuse my lack of knowledge.
I am trying to connect to a Micro 820 thru Connected Workbench/RS Linx using my VM.
What Ethernet adapter (local pc or VM) do i change to PLC network.
My local PC shows 3 connections:
Ethernet
VMnet1
VMnet8
On my VM i have 2 connections showing Bridged and NAT.
In my virtual network settings i show VMnet0 (Bridged)
VMnet1 (Host Only) 192.168.131.0
VMnet8 NAT 192.168.78.0
My PLC is on 10.0.6.10
Any help is appreciated

Your VM's Bridged connection will have its own unique IP address, different from the host's. You can tell the bridged connection which host NIC to use.

The NAT adapter will share the host's IP address and connection. Its local address (inside the VM) will be DHCP and doesn't matter much (in my experience). That's the one I generally use, because I've had some issues in the past with IT policies and the sheer number of PCs and VMs that made bridged less practical (each VM on each PC needs its own unique IP address and we had about 8 VMs each on 5 hosts, so that would eat up 40 unique IP addresses).

For NAT to work, set the IP address of the HOST adapter that connects to the PLC network to a unique IP address in the same subnet as the PLC. If there aren't any other devices on the PLC network, you can use 10.0.6.* on your host, where * is anything other than 10. The subnet mask is 255.255.255.0 and you can leave the gateway blank. With NAT, if the host can ping the device, the guest usually can as well. I've encountered a few exceptions, but yours should just work.

For bridged...I'm not sure if the host and VM have to be on the same subnet or not. Either way, you change the IP address of the bridged adapter inside the VM to 10.0.6.*, where * is a unique number different from the host and different from any other device on the PLC network. You may or may not need to change the host's address to the same subnet. Either way, it needs to have a different address from the guest.