I’m the new guy

I am just beginning my journey into plc programming and troubleshooting. I’ve downloaded the Logixpro simulator and I’m already stuck on the student exercise involving the door operation. I’m in desperate need of a mentor. Someone to go to for help, and that can point me in the right direction as far as what to study and train with. Thanks.

I am just beginning my journey into plc programming and troubleshooting. I’ve downloaded the Logixpro simulator and I’m already stuck on the student exercise involving the door operation. I’m in desperate need of a mentor. Someone to go to for help, and that can point me in the right direction as far as what to study and train with. Thanks.

Hi Neoabe. You're in a good place. Plenty of folks are more than happy to help.
What parts of the simulator have you done? Where are you stuck at? Can you post what you have so far with explanations on what you think it is doing?

here. Watch that series, especially the first 3-5 videos, over and over again until you understand and can recite @Ron Beaufort's narration before you hear it. Pay particular attention to three concepts:

1. The scan cycle.
    1. It's very simple: I/O scan; program scan; repeat.
    2. PLC programming is about time, and the scan cycle is the clock.
      1. This is the most important concept in PLC programming.
  2. The order of evaluation of rungs in a program, of instructions on a rung, and of the branches in a set of parallel branches:
    1. Also very simple: left-to-right and top-to-bottom.
    2. This the second most important concept in PLC programming, because it is again about time
      1. i.e. when an instruction is evaluated relative to any other instruction.
  3. @Ron Beaufort's model for describing what a PLC does:
    1. bits have values of 1 or 0;
    2. rungs are True or False;
    3. bits are in memory;
    4. any bit, even an "input" bit, can be changed during the program scan
    5. some bits are proxies for inputs or outputs.