AB Power Supply Module failuring

denniskt

Hello friends,
I am new to automation field.So I need your help to find reason for a problem.
Our system uses a power supply module 1769-PA4 for a Compact Logix L35E processor.We have installed the system around 5 months before.We faced a problem last month that Power Supply module damage.We replaced the module and the PLC started working.But after 10-15 days this problem again happened.
can somebody please help me to find the root cause of the powers supply module failure from your knowledge ?

As someone already said, overload.

What are all the modules (in order from PLC) that are on that rack?

What is the environment the controller is in? Can it be dirt or moisture? Condensation can form in conduit if temperature conditions are right.

This PLC is sitting at a control panel and an AC operates inside .But there no chance of condensation as the modules r properly sealed

i think james mean if the configuration is overloading it by having too much load on it....too much cards or any dc output loaded to the plc powersupply if it can happend

The other option is to get surge or overvoltage spike....

Then at the end if too much vibration from a panel installed on a working machine instead of across a solid wall....

Grounding? Vibration? Give us some more clues about your system...
I have checked GND first time itself.The PLC GND is properly connected only.

And the PLC is mounted on a heavy weight control panel and the panel is well away from machine is not much vibratory. So hope that the chance of vibration is not at all.

Can u plz tell me more clues which may cause this problem so that i can cross check that.

Input voltage too high?
Yes Bob,there is some problem with input supply here.Here we observed that there is a voltage fluctuation occasionally.Its range is +/-35V input.
But I have doubt,why the fluctuation affects only PLC and not other devices in the panel if input voltage is the problem!!!!