Pneumatic Cylinder position Control. Need feedback on my Structured Text code

nearxos

I am looking for different solution on controlling a pneumatic Cylinder move at preset positions.

One of the solutions is to use 5 magnetic switches on the cylinder for close , 1/4 , 1/2, 3/4, 4/4 positions

I did write the code in structure text and it's working at list on codesys simulation.

Since I am fairly new to the PLC word I would like some feedback on what I have done.

If anybody is willing to have a look and comment i can share the code

I wasn't sure if I could post the code in here.

See bellow the code I 've written

Code:
// GOT TO 0% POSITION

IF BTN.HMI_0 OR BTN.Main_0 OR BTN.Operator_0 THEN
	index := 1;

IF position_25 OR position_50 OR position_75 OR position_100 THEN
		Valve_A := TRUE;
		Valve_B := FALSE; 
		ELSE
		Valve_A := FALSE;
		END_IF
END_IF

// GOT TO 25% POSITION

IF BTN.HMI_25 OR BTN.Main_25 OR BTN.Operator_25 THEN
	index :=2;
 	IF position_50 OR position_75 OR position_100 THEN
	ELSIF position_0 THEN
			Valve_B := TRUE; 	
 	END_IF
END_IF

// GOT TO 50% POSITION

IF BTN.HMI_50 OR BTN.Main_50 OR BTN.Operator_50 THEN
	index :=3;

IF position_75 OR position_100  THEN
	ELSIF position_0 OR position_25 THEN
 	END_IF
END_IF

// GOT TO 75% POSITION

IF BTN.HMI_75 OR BTN.Main_75 OR BTN.Operator_75 THEN
	index := 4;
 	IF position_100   THEN
	ELSIF position_0 OR position_25 OR position_75 THEN
 	END_IF
END_IF

// GOT TO 100% POSITION

IF BTN.HMI_100 OR BTN.Main_100 OR BTN.Operator_100 THEN
	index := 5;
 	IF  position_0 OR position_25 OR position_50 OR position_75  THEN
		ELSE
		END_IF
END_IF

// index position to stop Cylinder

IF (index =1 AND position_0) OR
 (index = 2 AND position_25) OR 
(index = 3 AND position_50) OR 
(index =4 AND position_75) OR
(index= 5 AND position_100)  THEN
END_IF

Last edited:
I can see the idea behind the code.