Help

RyanPLC

Greetings,

I am a complete NOOB but wanting to learn ladder logic, I have started a couple of on-line courses but I like to have a go to help me learn.

My setup is:

Raspberry Pi zero w
OpenPLC
AdvancedHMI

I have two switches and two LED's one red and one green and they are referenced in the ladder logic.

Switch is %IX0.0
Push switch is &Ix0.2
Red LED is %QX0.0
Green LED is %QX0.1

When I use the physical switches the LEDs light up as they are supposed to.

So I downloaded and installed Advanced HMI and I added two button and two LED's to match my real setup.

Using the address 00001 & 00002 the LED's light up on my monitor when I operate the physical switch... Great!

I cannot for the life of me though use the virtual on screen buttons to light the LED's

I have tried 10001 & 1001 as addresses but they just won't light. (infact 10001 just displays an error)

I have been at this now for a couple of days and have read lots of online docs but I just don't seem to be getting anywhere.

Could someone spell it out for me like you would a child lol.

Thanks in advance and sorry if this is not the right place

Last edited:
So it could be a few things:

1.) Is your HMI correctly referencing a tag (or address) in your OpenPLC? As in, can you get a single bit in the PLC to change from a command in your HMI?

2.) It may help to post your ladder logic. If you have two sources both trying to turn on the same output things can get hairy if you have duplicate destructive bits. As in, if your physical switch is off (trying to de-energize the light) and your virtual switch is on (trying to energize the light), then they are fighting each other. I've never used OpenPLC, but this seems like it could be an issue.

Hi,

So attached are my screenshots.
The pi has 2 pull up resistors so I don't know if that's the reason as Im not sure how to make a normally closed button in the HMI?

But I have used negated contacts in the ladder.

Any and all help appreciated.