Using PLC to control a shooting range

jozzi99

Hi guys!
I am a newbie, so please excuse me if I ask dumb questions.
I am working on a project which as the title says involves a PLC controlling a whole shooting range by the help of sound sensors.
The principle is theoretically not so complicated. By the use of sound sensors I would like to control the clay pigeon throwing machines. If the shooter says "PULL" out loud, the sensor sends a signal to the PLC and the PLC then sends a signal to the machine which then throws the bird. Then I would need a second sound sensor with a much smaller sensitivity for when the gun pops. This second sensor then would send a signal to the PLC which then sets the program to another phase, where comes the second shooter or the next station. This is just in a nutshell, but I hope you guys understand it.
My main questions are:
- What kind of sound sensors do you recommend to use for this particular job?
- Is there a software, where I can test my ideas without having to buy a PLC? Is LabView a good choice?

Further tasks I will have to deal with are:
- connecting a tablet to the PLC via WiFi or Bluetooth for having able to choose game types (14 birds, 20 birds, 25 birds), ergo controlling the PLC programs by the tablet;
- monitoring the game stats on the tablet;

For that matter, what kind of PLC would you guys recommend? 8 stations, two towers (where the machines are located) and tablet connectivity. See attached pic.

If you can help with anything from above, I would appreciate it very much.

Thank you!

Best regards,
Joe.

skeet_layout.gif

Last edited:
Yes, that occurred to me too. But the thing is this voice triggering method is the all time standard on shooting ranges. Normally the shotgun referee is pushing the trigger button, when the shooter shouts "pull", I would like to automate that. But sure, I will have to try that live... Maybe a sound sensor which picks up sounds only about 1-2 meters away? ...