Basic PLC Questions

ToddMEstudent

T
I'm a mechanical engineering student. I am working on a senior design project. The project is to redesign a brazing machine. The current design is a partially automated system. I am looking a controlling a few motors. The motors would move a cart in and out. Also, I need to control how long the torches are burning. I want the machine operators to be able to push a button to move the part into the brazing system and be able to forget about it until it is done brazing. There would also have to be an emergency stop buton.

You guys are the experts here, I basically don't know anything about this stuff. Here are my questions:

How possible is this for a senior mechanical engineering student to figure this out?

Is this something easy that I could figure out when I get started, or will it take quite a while to figure it out?

Approximately how much would something like this cost?

Any help is very much appreciated.

Todd,

Feel free to register.

So it looks like you actually may have a simple operation.

Cart: presumeably a single axis Forward & Reverse

Torch: on & off (no flame adjustment?)How are you going to light the torch?

Does the torch head move also, or does the work move under a stationary torch head? What feeds the brazing rod? what about flux, or are we using an inert gas? Wire feed?

My guess is that you might be able to do it but first you have to lay down the process in better detail, if not for better responses, then for your better understanding of exactly what you have to do. Go ahead an layout the machine design then design the control system to fit the machine.

Mike got in before me...

I first, make a sequence of events, what happens, then what happens next.

From this, the logic can be programmed.

Click on Learn PLCs on the top of the page for more info.

Timers or counters could be configured to tell you your burn time. This could be on a display or digital readout.