STUDENTS ATTENTION -- from a student

leitmotif

I just saw a post from some clown asking for a traffic light program.
Basically what he is saying is do my work for me and do it for free.

I am a student and I understand the issues of being a student. I have an AA BS and MS so I been thru the school hoops. I am now going to school for PLC knowledge.

Here is the way it is and how to get help from these guys.
They will drown you in knowledge and help if you:
1. DO NOT ask them to do it for you.
2. Come up with a clear question.
3. Have some kind of proposal or diagram to show what you are thinking.
4. If you have no idea of whare to start ask them to send you to reference materials -- AFTER you have tried the school library and public libraries AND tell them you tried the libraries.

It does not matter how wrong you are if they see you trying.

Dan Bentler
Graduate of
Navy Nuclear Power
Mt Hood Community College
University of Washington (the BS and MS)

Students

Martin and Casey

I see a lot of this irritation with students here. Some is justified - that clown with the traffic light was a classic.

I really think a message to them should be right at the top so they know what to do. Melore can keep mine at the top. Students cannot cry because I am one.

In my 20 years of safety work I came across operations and machines I knew nothing about. I found if I asked the operator what the machine did and explained why I wanted AND NEEDED to know I generally got an answer - sometimes hours worth.

I have asked a couple questions already and will ask more. Some will be really dumb BUT if I knew I would not ask.