Compactlogix L35E. EthernetIP module lost and cannot see it

Hi all,
I am an amateur PLC user. I am using a Compactlogix L35E.

Some time in the past week, the I/O light began blinking green. Whereas previously it was solid green.

When i attempted to communicate with it over the LAN, i could not establish communication with the PLC. So i connected using an RS232 crossover cable.

I am able to communicate, go online, modify routines, download new programs, upload exising programs, using the RS232.

This said, my RSLinx is not able to see the Ethernet IP module. My RSLogix 5000 is not able to see the module. There is a Yellow fault symbol above sitting abovewhere the Ethernet IP module is represented on the backplane, found along the side panel of RSLogix.

I am currently running V16 Firmware.

I would appreciate any ideas as to how i can re establish communication.

Ryan

Hover over the errored device to look at it's IP address.
Once you are on the same local network, try pinging it. Is the ping working? If not, then the issue probably resides with the device's IP settings, or hardware failure.

I think the 1769-L35E had a literal physical Ethernet daughtercard connected to the main board, which works logically like a separate module in the controller's backplane.

It's *possible* that has failed mechanically or electrically, but I would expect a flashing Fault LED, not just a blinking I/O LED and loss of network connectivity.

Can you post a screenshot of the I/O tree visible in RSLogix 5000, and how the backplane looks when you bridge through the RS-232 port in RSLinx Classic ?

Ordinarily you can "see" the daughtercard in RSLinx and right-click to configure its Ethernet configuration and IP address.

Also do basic network connectivity troubleshooting: get a known-good Ethernet cable and plug the controller's network port into a known-good Ethernet switch and observe the status of the link LEDs.