Red Lion Crimson 3: programmatic trend pause ?

Ken Roach

Lifetime Supporting Member + Moderator
Hello, fellow Red Lion Crimson 3 enthusiasts,

I am a beginner with the Red Lion data logging and Trend Viewer objects, but I have the basic Data Log set up and putting data on the screen.

There are a handful of things I'd like to customize about the Trend Viewer that I don't see obvious ways to do. So I'm asking here !

1. Can I programmatically pause the trend ?

Clicking the "<" button puts the trend in 'Historical' mode and stops trending forward, but I don't think it stops the data log. I have an unattended process and want the trend to stop at the end, so that an operator who walks back up to the machine minutes or hours later doesn't have to click the < or << buttons to try to find the data that was gathered during the process cycle.

2. Can I hide any of the trend features, like the Date/Width/Live banner on top, or the In/Out buttons below ?

I suppose I could link their color with a tag and make them background-colored. I just want to simplify the appearance of the trend, since I'm using the relatively small screen of the G306A.

3. Is there any way to specify the Historical position of data on the Trend ?

It would be very neat if I could show the data from a previous batch by launching the Trend object in Historical mode with a specified end time and span.

I'm coming from a background using the limited Trend object in FactoryTalk View ME, but have dabbled in the power of the Chart object in Inductive Automation Ignition, so maybe I'm spoiled being able to programatically address all the supporting aspects of a complex object like a Trend.

Hello, fellow Red Lion Crimson 3 enthusiasts,
1. Can I programmatically pause the trend ?

Under the data log you configured, look at the "Log Enable", is that what you are looking for?

2. Can I hide any of the trend features, like the Date/Width/Live banner on top, or the In/Out buttons below ?