Stratix 8300 to Core Switch

d21x

Hey everyone. I am trying to connect my Plant Switch (Stratix 8300) to the Business Core Switch. I am not an IT professional, so I am trying my best by reading manuals and doing Google searches. My IT dept does not support non-Cisco switches (yes I know it has Cisco internals), so I'm pretty much on my own. My problem is I am not able to Ping the Stratix 8300.

Below is my Network Diagram. Attached are screen shots of the Web Setup.

10.205.172.0/24 is my subnet.
10.205.172.2/24 = Stratix 8300
10.205.172.3-254/24 = Devices
Gi1/1 is connected to IDF Switch.

Here's what IT has done:
Create VLAN 205 on IDF switch (Now VLAN205 has been created on 10.200.171.121 and 10.200.172.10)
Change the VLAN of FA0/29 interface on IDF switch to VLAN205
Create sub-interface on the MPLS router for VLAN205
Create VLAN 205 on Core switch (10.200.172.10)

Am I doing something wrong on the Routing Page? Do I need to put the Core Switch IP address in the Gateway? Do I need to add Static Routes?

v3ef5g.png

Must be nice that your IT department can get away with saying "Sorry, not my job." I sure hope they don't ask for your help with any electricity that goes to Cisco switches; Sorry, we don't support that use...."

Anyway, I'm not a network expert, but at least I will try and help. If your 8300 has a netmask of 255.255.255.0 it can't communicate with the IDF switch which is on another subnet. The IDF switch needs to have an IP address on the same subnet as the 8300.

If the gateway is set to 10.205.172.1, what device has that address?

Last edited:
Must be nice that your IT department can get away with saying "Sorry, not my job." I sure hope they don't ask for your help with any electricity that goes to Cisco switches; Sorry, we don't support that use...."