Multi-Tank leveling(flow control) with PLC5

KNeland

I was just presented with an application requiring control of two separate valves, each controlling individual flows into 2(or 2 sets of 2) tanks.
The Idea is to keep both of the tanks filling equally, out of one pipe. The flow pipe splits in a Y and there is a valve at each branch controlling flow into the separate tanks. I want the valves to fail open, so really it will be a matter of restricting flow into whichever tank is holding more juice, allowing the other tank to catch up(as it's valve by default will be full open).
I will be using PLC5's, and currently I am mulling over some PID possibilities. Truth is, I have very little experience under my belt, and haven't faced this kind of task up until now. Both valves have 4-20ma positioners which I'll be feeding from an analog card in the PLC5. The whole contraption isn't in place just yet, so I am not sure how I'll be seeing levels, or if we have space on an input card to get feedback from the valves.

Any Ideas in this area would be very welcome.

Thanks,

Kyle

If you want to do a smooth control (analog with PID) on the OUTPUT to the valves, you'll HAVE to have analog INPUTS re: the levels of the two tanks.

Otherwise, you only know which tank is higher (minimum requirement) and then just close, or partly close, the fill valve for THAT tank.

If NOT having analog input info is a possible REAL limitation, the only device that springs to mind would be an extremely sensitive "differential pressure switch". I can imagine two of them, set up in such a way that if one is "made" it imparts the information that one tank is higher, and if the other is "made", the system knows the other tank is higher.

Anyway, find out if you're going to be able to have analog inputs... and get back to us...

Stationmaster

The Idea is to keep both of the tanks filling equally, out of one pipe.
Kyle,