Analog I/O in AllenBradley PLC5

Frelecing

Hi everyone:

It's my first time working with analog I/O on a PLC, so I am a little lost.
I have the ladder code that's in a PLC in my company and we have to make some changes.

As the change will be to add another mill and electromagnetic vibrator, just as one we already have, the idea is to copy and paste the section of the program that controls the original. But I cannot find the portion of the code that refers to the original mill/vib.

I have identified the connection of the 2 analog signals I need (this are: an amperimeter from the mill, and the signal that controls the magnitude of the vibration)

In the plc I have 3 analog cards, one 16-point input (1771 IFE) located in Rack0, Slot 2* of the chassis, and 2 4-point output (1771 OFE1), located in Rack0, Slots4.

The Amperimeter is connected to the first terminal of the input card (this is input 1 or 0?), and the mill is connected to the 2 terminal of the second output card.
My guess is that the should be addresed in the code as I:002/0 and O:006/1. I can't find any reference to those I/O , but as I am just guessing how analog I/O work I maybe completely wrong. So if anyone can explain me, as a very basic tutorial ("analog PLC I/O for dummies") I will be more than grateful.

Thanks!

*If I have 4 slots in one rack, they are named, 0 2 4 and 6, aren't they?

First tell us the what PLC5/?? you have. A PLC5/?? does not use input/output addresses for analog modules like the SLC500 does. A PLC5/?? will have block transfer instructions to read/write to the analog modules, they use integer addresses like e.g. N29:0.
Post your .RSP file (zip it first) and someone will help you find the addresses.

With a 1771-IFE analog input module channel numbering starts at "Channel 1"
With a 1771-OFE analog ouput module channel numbering starts at "Channel 1"

This is not true for all AB analog modules some do start at "Channel 0", check the manual to be sure.

Last edited: