SLC500 vs ControlLogix

poiuy

I'm a college student, and my current co-op is my first introduction to PLC's. The vast majority of the work I've been doing involves SLC500's, however, we have a ControlLogix setup in the lab for testing and learning purposes. Anyway, I was wondering where the ControlLogix gear fits into the AB line with respect to the SLC500. They're about the same size, have similar I/O modules, etc, so I was hoping someone could give me a basic explanation of how the two are different.

Thats what I'm asking about. I was hoping someone could give me a basic rundown without going into technical detail, ie. ControlLogix are cheaper, but dont have as many available modules, but can connect to the ethernet easily, etc.

Take a look here to see a quick comparison. If you burrow further into each processor you will see some of the main differences.
The CLX platform is a pretty significant step up in performance from the SLC series. The costs are relatively even, with SLC being somewhat cheaper. AB wants the world to go CLX so the price for that platform relative to the others will be come more attractive as time goes on.
The programming environment will look pretty familiar. However the data structure is quite a bit different. That may take some getting used to.
The backplane for CLX is not the master/slave setup of the SLC. It's basically a parallel version of ControlNet. As such it supports peer to peer as well as master/slave communications. So you can have two CLX processors in the same rack.

Dig in and have fun.
Keith