You are not registered yet. Please click here to register!


 
 
plc storereviewsdownloads
This board is for PLC Related Q&A ONLY. Please DON'T use it for advertising, etc.
 
Try our online PLC Simulator- FREE.  Click here now to try it.

---------->>>>>Get FREE PLC Programming Tips

New Here? Please read this important info!!!


Go Back   PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > LIVE PLC Questions And Answers

PLC training tools sale

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old October 11th, 2017, 01:27 PM   #1
bb1fit
Member
United States

bb1fit is offline
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Midwest
Posts: 29
Factory Talk

We have several HMI's on site (FT). They respond extremely slow. Any thoughts on this? Looking at the diagnostic viewer, many errors that begin...Cannot interpret area RNA://$ Local.......How do you clear these? This was an upgraded system from an old GE. I know many pages were copied and duplicated. Thanks for any help.
  Reply With Quote
Old October 11th, 2017, 01:48 PM   #2
Ken Roach
Lifetime Supporting Member + Moderator
United States

Ken Roach is offline
 
Ken Roach's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 13,374
The phrase "cannot interpret area" suggests a basic problem configuring FactoryTalk data servers.

But that alone isn't much information to go on. Certainly any software system with multiple mis-configuration or mis-addressing problems isn't going to give its best performance.

Is this a FactoryTalk View SE system, with servers and computers ? Or are you talking about PanelView Plus touchscreens running FactoryTalk View Machine Edition (ME) ?

What is "extremely slow", to you ? How do you evaluate the HMI speed ?

What kind of networks and controllers is the HMI system connected to ?
__________________
- "Simpler is better, except when complicated looks really cool."
  Reply With Quote
Old October 11th, 2017, 03:50 PM   #3
LoganB
Lifetime Supporting Member
United States

LoganB is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Location: Michigan
Posts: 350
I had this error on one of my lines and ended up calling into Rockwell for support. The tech was extremely knowledgeable, but we weren't able to track down the problem because there were so many possible causes. I ended up finding it by eliminating objects on the screens until the problem went away, it ended up being a button addressed to an old SLC output card. The ME application didn't like that it was communicating to a CompactLogix, to an ethernet port, then a 1747-AENTR, then through a SLC backplane to a second chassis through one of those connector cables, and finally to a channel. Once I made an OTE on the CompactLogix that mirrored the state of the channel on the SLC IO (CompactLogix didn't have any issue reading it) and pointed the PanelVew BTTN at that address instead, the error went away.

And it was VERY slow when the error was happening, but the speed issues went away as well. Probably had something to do with trying to read that particular address over and over without success.

But definitely, give more info about your specific situation. If anyone can help, it's the people on this forum.
__________________
Present: Controls Engineer
Future: Skynet Engineer
  Reply With Quote
Old October 12th, 2017, 11:13 AM   #4
bb1fit
Member
United States

bb1fit is offline
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Midwest
Posts: 29
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ken Roach View Post
The phrase "cannot interpret area" suggests a basic problem configuring FactoryTalk data servers.

But that alone isn't much information to go on. Certainly any software system with multiple mis-configuration or mis-addressing problems isn't going to give its best performance.

Is this a FactoryTalk View SE system, with servers and computers ? Or are you talking about PanelView Plus touchscreens running FactoryTalk View Machine Edition (ME) ?

What is "extremely slow", to you ? How do you evaluate the HMI speed ?

What kind of networks and controllers is the HMI system connected to ?
This is Factory Talk SE, network local site units. Extremely slow is if you tap a pushbutton on the gloabal template to access another page, it may sit there and 'think' for anywhere up to 30, maybe 40 seconds before it changes pages. Looking in the app that created it, there are tons of errors, and I believe this is what is slowing it so badly. It is looking at lots of stuff. Their network is not the best here, but I believe I could speed up response time if I could clear a bunch of those errors out.
  Reply With Quote
Old October 12th, 2017, 11:16 AM   #5
bb1fit
Member
United States

bb1fit is offline
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Midwest
Posts: 29
Quote:
Originally Posted by LoganB View Post
I had this error on one of my lines and ended up calling into Rockwell for support. The tech was extremely knowledgeable, but we weren't able to track down the problem because there were so many possible causes. I ended up finding it by eliminating objects on the screens until the problem went away, it ended up being a button addressed to an old SLC output card. The ME application didn't like that it was communicating to a CompactLogix, to an ethernet port, then a 1747-AENTR, then through a SLC backplane to a second chassis through one of those connector cables, and finally to a channel. Once I made an OTE on the CompactLogix that mirrored the state of the channel on the SLC IO (CompactLogix didn't have any issue reading it) and pointed the PanelVew BTTN at that address instead, the error went away.

And it was VERY slow when the error was happening, but the speed issues went away as well. Probably had something to do with trying to read that particular address over and over without success.

But definitely, give more info about your specific situation. If anyone can help, it's the people on this forum.
I believe your solution would be the same as ours to fix this....it is looking at multiple tags it seems that no longer exist from the old GE software. I am wondering why this would be....Thank you for your reply
  Reply With Quote
Old October 12th, 2017, 11:37 AM   #6
bb1fit
Member
United States

bb1fit is offline
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Midwest
Posts: 29
Please find attached an 'example'...short list that keeps scrolling over and over, but more. All I could capture on a screenshot.
Attached Files
File Type: docx Errors.docx (309.0 KB, 8 views)
  Reply With Quote
Old October 12th, 2017, 12:09 PM   #7
LoganB
Lifetime Supporting Member
United States

LoganB is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Location: Michigan
Posts: 350
Glad I could help!
__________________
Present: Controls Engineer
Future: Skynet Engineer
  Reply With Quote
Reply
Jump to Live PLC Question and Answer Forum

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Topics
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
PanelView Plus firmware and Factory Talk Studio version compatibility Steve Bailey LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 15 July 11th, 2017 08:22 PM
Factory talk historian SE 3.0.1/Factory talk 3.62 Santa10 LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 1 February 20th, 2015 11:19 AM
How to copy display folder of Factory talk SE to Factory talk ME minaykha LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 2 November 13th, 2013 08:12 PM
Problem with RSLinx Factory Talk Activation Coulombboy LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 2 September 22nd, 2012 03:29 AM
Factory Talk View Studio v5.1 to v5.0 Incompatability bkfrodo LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 3 October 2nd, 2011 08:59 AM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:50 AM.


.