You are not registered yet. Please click here to register!


 
 
plc storereviewsdownloads
This board is for PLC Related Q&A ONLY. Please DON'T use it for advertising, etc.
 
Try our online PLC Simulator- FREE.  Click here now to try it.

---------->>>>>Get FREE PLC Programming Tips

New Here? Please read this important info!!!


Go Back   PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > LIVE PLC Questions And Answers

PLC training tools sale

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old October 12th, 2017, 01:28 PM   #1
AlecTek
Member
Canada

AlecTek is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Vancouver
Posts: 108
Questions about programming with productivity suite software

Hello everyone, I am just starting to use productivity 2000/3000 and got some questions:

1) How could I get the modbus address of a tag if I dont assign it myself? when I export I can read from the csv file but is there an easy way to do it in the suite software?

2) How could i make a new program with some existing program's tasks? how could I export a task? or combine two programs together?

3) DL205 has an impressive feature that everything can be opened as a text file, does anyone knows how to convert the program of productivity to text and convert back?

Thanks in advance!
Report Post
  Reply With Quote
Old October 12th, 2017, 02:39 PM   #2
AlecTek
Member
Canada

AlecTek is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Vancouver
Posts: 108
Got 2):

just open two productivity suite and copy paste tasks from each other.
  Reply With Quote
Old October 12th, 2017, 05:14 PM   #3
OkiePC
Lifetime Supporting Member
United States

OkiePC is offline
 
OkiePC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: ENE of Nowhere Oklahoma
Posts: 9,354
1) I think you must assign the Modbus address in order to be able to reference it from an external Modbus device.

I can't help with #3, but will be following to see if there is an answer.
__________________
It's not all the variables I am most concerned with, it's the undiscovered constants.
  Reply With Quote
Old October 13th, 2017, 08:36 AM   #4
Bullzi
Lifetime Supporting Member
United States

Bullzi is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Colorado
Posts: 1,104
To assign a Modbus address got to your Tag Database Select the tags you want (use the Ctrl or Shift buttons if you want more than one) then right click on MOD Start and select Auto Assign Modbus Address and the software will assign the address for you. Pretty cool feature.
__________________
There is never enough money to do it right but there is always enough money to do it again.
  Reply With Quote
Old October 13th, 2017, 09:45 AM   #5
AlecTek
Member
Canada

AlecTek is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Vancouver
Posts: 108
I see how the modbus addressing works. Thank you guys!
  Reply With Quote
Old October 13th, 2017, 10:24 AM   #6
AlecTek
Member
Canada

AlecTek is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Vancouver
Posts: 108
I got another question:

4) when I copy paste a task from another program, some tags from that task will be automatically added to the tag database, but some are not. why? and how to add those tags?
  Reply With Quote
Old October 13th, 2017, 11:48 AM   #7
AlecTek
Member
Canada

AlecTek is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Vancouver
Posts: 108
Got 4):

If a tag name has '.' will not be imported to a struct enabled program.

Trick to change tag names: export tag names in csv and edit with excel, then import back, name will change - one name for one modbus address.
  Reply With Quote
Reply
Jump to Live PLC Question and Answer Forum

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Topics
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Why pay for PLC programming software? Stephen Luft LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 283 October 24th, 2015 07:58 AM
Exor panels programming software plcsimpleuser LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 8 September 13th, 2005 05:53 AM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:05 AM.


.